We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #102 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Hotel 717. We were really looking forward to it - especially after reading such great reviews - and were certainly not disappointed. From the moment we were greeted at the impressive front door - to the moment we left - we felt thoroughly cossetted. Every single member of staff was helpful and very courteous. The breakfasts - both in the stunning breakfast room and in our opulent bedroom - were beautifully presented. We enjoyed complimentary coffees and glasses of wine accompanied by various nibbles - olives, salami etc in each of the three drawing rooms downstairs before venturing out to the nearby shops, restaurants and bars. (The tram stop is only 50 metres away and Anne Frank's house is on the same canal approx 500 metres away.)
All in all we had a sensational time and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 453 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel 717 is an excellent place to stay. Its location could not be bettered nor could its service. It is billed as a home from home and that is exactly what it is. From the time I arrived to the time I left, it was great. And the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. It is a little pricey but I have to say it is worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hgcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our experience at 717 was fabulous. My wife and I stayed there for 5 nights. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful and accommodating. The room (Shakespeare Suite) was perfect. The continental breakfast was the BEST way to start our day. And the location is excellent. We walked everywhere. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I think this is the best hotel in the Amsterdam. I stayed at the Von Goethe Suite, the room is beautiful and a very good size, comfortable. The service was spot on. Next time will ask a room with a canal view.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miscdazc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, converted from a 17th century merchant's house in the Western Canal area, on one of the main canals. The rooms are large, comfortable and full of art and interesting objects. The staff could not be more attentive, offering coffee when we arrived (very early) to leave our bags, and providing help and advice on a number of topics. The hotel has three lovely reception rooms including a library full of art books (very appropriate for Amsterdam), in which we were served wine and nibbles each evening. Breakfast was a delight, served in a ground floor dining room. And we were even given the Sunday paper in English.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASTCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent our wedding night at the 717 and we could not have wished for a better place to do this. From the perfectly polished shoes, to finding the phone I had lost in a cab within 10 minutes, to the most romantic wake up call ever, to the very tastefully decorated rooms and the intimate personal feeling you get from this place. It is cliché, but this is really the home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RasmusParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We got our stay here for our wedding night as a present and it was a present that we will definitely remember. The 'room at the top' was an amazing room decorated with antique Dutch furniture and drawings and the very tasty big breakfast (roomservice) came on real Delfts blue ceramics. The service was very good. The room comes with everything, including robe, slippers, a big bathtub, great classic and jazzy music channels, an amazing view and a perfect bed. For people that want the experience of a very authentic old Amsterdam canal house, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirtheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 373 in Amsterdam
901 reviews
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#6 of 373 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#23 of 373 in Amsterdam
631 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $366 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing