We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #89 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Perfect location, outstanding and charming rooms. Service perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulvatne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    51
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
237
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

My husband and I originally chose this hotel based on a recommendation from our CountryclubUK membership and it's location. I am so glad we stayed there as it truly helped make our visit to Amsterdam wonderful.

The hotel felt like we were staying in a very wealthy friend's home. It was extremely inviting, comfortable yet elegant and charming. No detail was missed from the candles burning all throughout the day, the fresh gorgeous flowers throughout the hotel, the delicious breakfasts and lovely art work throughout the hotel. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and well looked after. They offered us coffee/tea/wine when we got back to our room in the afternoon and it was all part of the price! Even the minibar contents were included in the price. Sadly, we stayed at the Pulitzer hotel on our 3rd night in town and what a mistake that was. It was such a letdown after staying at Seven One Seven that we wished we could go back! I would recommend this hotel in a second and will certainly go back when we visit Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Breakfast in hotel is amazing and included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twocitygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

All I wished for. Great vibe and lovely service. I felt at home, and that was lovely since I had a busy week.
Thanks a lot again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elena55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

This hotel is absolutely my number one in Amsterdam. We had a beautiful suite Tolkien with beautiful view. The hotel is full of great staff, they still offer to the guests biscuits, tea, cakes, drinks.. That was so fine. The location is fantastic, close to museums, canal and many other attraction. Don´t forget to rent a bike on Mikey´s!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael_mor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

The hotel was one of the best in Holland. We stayed Schubert room for 2days and the room at the top for 3days.
Great and Exclusive service and everything in the hotel was just perfect.(I loved the complimentary breakfast)
I miss Hotel 717. The staffs were also super nice.
You should definitely stay Hotel 717 when you go to AMS.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theodori83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I am lucky enough to have a friend who lives out in Amsterdam and the boy has never been so this June it seemed the perfect excuse to drop in on her for a few days and to sample the veritable delights of the 717 Hotel. I have had my eye on this gorgeous urban oasis for a while after hearing another friend raving about the afternoon tea which comes with the price of the room.

The hotel is situated in a prominent position on the Prinsengracht canal and was inhabited for many years by a prosperous sugar trader. The rear part of the house was built first and dates from the 17th century, but in 1810 the property was extended towards the Prinsengracht to demonstrate the owner’s wealth to his fellow citizens.
At that time, the rear of the house still served as a ‘sugar mill’. The neighbouring properties were also under the trader’s ownership and served as depositories for the raw and refined sugar.

During much of the 20th century the property fulfilled a social purpose, after which in 1996 it was completely restored and in 1997 it was officially opened as a hotel.

On our arrival we were greeted by the very friendly hotel manager Brita. As soon as the heavy front door opens you know you are in for a treat as your eyes are drawn to the delightful prints on the walls and stunning antiquities throughout.

After signing in Brita swiftly took us to our room. He had chosen for us the Franz List suite. As the name suggests this particular suite has a very musical theme! Situated on the ground floor of the house it is an attractive, 50 m2 suite with a comfortable sitting room at the front, and a quiet bedroom at the patio side of the house it also has a very roomy walk-in shower. After a very refreshing dip in the shower we sat down to our afternoon tea in the stunning sitting room. It is really cosy with windows just below street level so you can look up and out at the passers by. It was a particularly rainy Dutch day but that didn't bother us a jot as we sat down to watch Trois Coloeurs Bleu on the sleek Bang and Olfusen tv.

Our afternoon tea consisted of petite fours and delicious Williamson earl grey tea. Big thumbs up from the girl in this relationship. I admit I am a tea snob and being English, when one goes away one is usually greeted by limp, insipid tasteless tea. This is the crack cocaine of the the tea world.

After the film we retired to our bed for an afternoon nap. The bed is huge and just the right level of firmness. 717 use Egyptian cotton sheets and you can tell. After a blissful couple of hours sleep we met up with our friends for a stroll around the 'Nine Streets' to get in some vintage shopping. I went a little crazy and bought a pair of navy, vintage Biba, stacked heels in an ultra cool star print. Amsterdam has a mean collection of vintage shops!

Later in the evening we went back to the hotel and brought our guests in for a night cap. Often frowned upon in most European hotels but the dapper night porter didn't bat an eye lid. This is Amsterdam after all;)

In the morning we took breakfast in our suite. You can also have it in the delightful Stravinsky room or in the summer, outside in the shaded patio.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the 717 - a true 5 star boutique hotel.

For more views like this check out our blog -

http://gypsettravellers.blogspot.com

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsetTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Perfect location, stunning rooms and friendly staff. Bliss! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caldychase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#19 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Property: Hotel Seven one Seven
Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing