We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Neutraal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Neutraal
Ranked #350 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

funky smell on the stairs. the room was simple, but clean, the shared bathroom new, so nothing to complain about. Please be aware of paying cash at the arrival, the payment via credit card is only a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    67
    59
    114
See reviews for
23
88
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice hotel, great location clean rooms, comfy bed. Would stay here again.
I have no idea what else to write here, i only stayed a night. I didn't eat any breakfast, I woke up too late and after the two huge dinners I stuffed down my throat the night before, I decided to instead drink coffee from a glass cup overlooking the canal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Myself and partner stayed here july 2014 in a private room with what was meant to me a double bed - was more like king single. the hostel is in a good location, thats about it. There are no lifts and we stayed on the 3rd floor (after walking up a flight to get the reception). There is no aircon, the hallways smell of mothballs, the room is very small but does have a sink in it which was good and reception staff were ok. For €183 I thought it would have been better, lucky we were their just for a bed.

Room Tip: Everything needs to be updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Briana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good bed but small room & too hot, very noisy
Toilet very, very small, shower OK (1 each on floor to share)
Painting in room OK but corridors need painting & decorations
Service OK, nice people
Breakfast simple, coffee not strong & warm enough

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Arielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

In room was dirty walls, dirty hand prints visible, short bed in room, room can not be ventilated because behind of the window smokes, uncomfortable, but Excellent location and for Amsterdam normal price.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Liene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#309 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#131 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,417 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#291 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#235 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#303 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#181 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutraal

Property: Hotel Neutraal
Address: Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Neutraal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Budget Places, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Neutraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutraal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing