We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but also dirty”
Review of Hotel Neutraal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Neutraal
Ranked #353 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice people are working there. The location is perfekt, directly on the amsterdam centraal station. My room looked very friendly. The shared bathrooms were very dirty, I asked when there were cleaned the last time. The Bath & the toilett were geekery me!




  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 294 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ravinder N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Absolutely disgusting hotel.!!! Needed hotel for night so had a look in.. Staircase dirty,old carpet..not a good start and got 10 times worse..e125 a night. Got keys to room opened door wallpaper falling off walls,walls disgustingly dirty, smoke alarm hanging off ceiling, furniture from 70,s in tatters...unbelieveable worst hotel I've ever been in by a mile...they want reporting for renting rooms out in that state. Went down stairs said we couldn't stop here given money back no apology's,no questions why nothing.!!!! Whoever says this hotel is ok is talking rubbish...or the owner.!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank georgeforeman0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Small room, tiny bed, Not very clean, toilets and shower rather bad, prices ok - not as cheap as I would expect for that room.
Great location - Right in the middle of the city center, a minute walk from central station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyalMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The room was cleaner then I expected. Toilet and shower were a no go. There was a funky smell in the corridors. LOADS of stairs to pass to get to our room. Receptionists were nice and breakfast was ok. If your just looking for a room then id recommend it. Walking distance to most attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location of the hotel is perfect, only 5 minutes walk from the main Station. Staff was very friendly and helpful, bed-sheets and towels were clean. We had a room with 3 beds and it was VERY basic, with a sink and a view to a wall. Not a big problem because we only paid 125 GBP per night, BUT....there was no air condition and we had a hot summer-night, guests beside us must have smoked weed and our room and the corridor smelled of it. Walls were thin and we could hear the TV-show the other guest were watching and the loud laughter of the girls next door. We had a shared toilet and a shared shower. The latter had mildew on the ceiling, was claustrophobic and smelly. Because of the weed-smell and the heat hubby, out teenager-son and I spent most of the night outside the hotel on the bench. Breakfast-buffet was basic with only one cup of coffee each, several milk- and cereal-options, toast out of its bag, cold hard eggs, some continental sausage and cheeses. If you like the smell of weed and if you don´t mind getting high on weed-smell, if you don´t mind noises and hot sticky air, then this hotel is fine. You can walk to town, to the station, to the red light district. If you are looking for a restful, quiet place for the whole family, choose something else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dagmar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#325 of 373 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#295 of 373 in Amsterdam
740 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#300 of 373 in Amsterdam
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#182 of 373 in Amsterdam
274 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#231 of 373 in Amsterdam
458 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#236 of 373 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutraal

Address: Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $86 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Neutraal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Neutraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutraal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing