We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Hotel Neutraal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Neutraal
Ranked #355 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Service was so and so. Rooms tiny and filthy (thank god I had clean linen). You could hear every little sound from the corridor to the room. The "breakfast" consisted of some old bread and juice or milk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Risto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 292 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sanniesa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really, we thought that it will be not so nice as it is ! Rooms are really clean, service in the room every morning :) Double bed actually was very very comfortable ( I would like to have it in my room ). Even though that bathroom and shower is shared with other guests but it was unexpectedly clean. About the staff - they were really friendly. And location its just PERFECT. Everything is near ! Next time when will visit Amsterdam will stay in the same hotel !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaneta_Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We wanted somewhere cheap and central. Every other hotel was well over 100 quid a night. We stayed here and the location was brilliant surrounded by restaurants bars and of course coffee shops. As the location was so good we barely stayed in. Our room was tiny but we had a sink and a super comfy bed. The corridors are horrific as you walk to your room with wall paper falling off and wires coming out everywhere but the room was fine. Painted white and very basic but we only wanted to get our heads down. The bathroom was shared and the shower was amazing. Toilet was separate to the wet room. Every shower we went for it was spot less until the end of the night but we just rinsed the floor down with the shower and then in the morning it was spot less again.
There was mice bobbing about everywhere, but what do you expect in a city??? Particularly if your above McDonalds.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Callum M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Rooms are small but clean (a double bed is 125 cm wide...), breakfast is Ok, staff is friendly but to be honest, it's fairly expensive for what it is, but well, Amsterdam is probably one of the worst quality/price ratio even if it's gorgeous

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank rillantec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Depending obviously on what you are looking for in a trp to Amsterdam this litttle hotel could be the ticket. If like me n my two mates u want a central location to base urself so you can go and enjoy the less cultural products the city has to offer this hotel couldnt be better located.

Right next to Mcdonalds incase u get the munchies and its also a 5 min walk to the red light district and Suzies Saloon !

Rooms are terrible but if all u want is a bed to collapse on its a result.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#303 of 372 in Amsterdam
129 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#181 of 372 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#235 of 372 in Amsterdam
452 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 372 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#126 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutraal

Address: Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $87 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Neutraal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Neutraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutraal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing