We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small rooms, dirty bed linen”
Review of Hotel Neutraal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Neutraal
Ranked #353 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anastasia_VB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 294 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

hotel was clean,comfy bed, nice staff spot on location as it was 3min walk to centraal station and near dam square,
and for the record did not get any bed bugs or see any mice. these other reviews got me abit scared in booking this hotel,but to a chance and it was excellent

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nam044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is in a fantastic location only a minute's walk from Central Station. The hotel has their own kitten, very cute! The staff are pretty friendly and there's a pretty decent choice at breakfast. This place is quite cheap for Amsterdam so we didn't have particularly high hopes, especially reading reviews about bed bugs before we left! But we didn't find bed bugs. Although quite stained the bedding was clean but the beds were awful! So soft and uncomfortable. You know when you sit on a mattress and it folds it half? That was what we experienced! The carpet was heavily stained and the curtain pole looked like it might fly off the wall at some point. The loo had no soap but was pretty clean as was the shower. We were even woken in the middle of the night as a mouse was in our room chewing on a bag of sweets we'd left on the floor! It rapidly disappeared into a hole beneath the sink in our room! We then quickly realised why the hotel has it's own pest control in the form of a cute kitten!! Overall pretty average and could do with a bit of attention but fine for a 1-2 night stay. I wouldn't recommend as a romantic getaway though!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjbopeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The location is so perfect, 1 minitue away from the central station :)

The staff where very friendly and helpful when we had questions. The breakfast very basic.

The rooms where basic and clean but the hallways where very dirty. It looked kind of like a construction site, screws and dirt laying everywhere.

But I am very happy with my stay . Low price, friendly staff and a perfect location. Super for a weekend trip and I can definitely go there again :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The staff were excellent, very helpful and the breakfasts were very good. The rooms were very clean and of an adequate size. On the down side no lifts and most of the buildng is a work in prgress. However situation is perfect between Centraal Station and Dam Square.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#325 of 373 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#295 of 373 in Amsterdam
741 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#300 of 373 in Amsterdam
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#185 of 373 in Amsterdam
274 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#230 of 373 in Amsterdam
458 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#237 of 373 in Amsterdam
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutraal

Address: Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $85 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Neutraal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Neutraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutraal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing