We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Multatuli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Multatuli
Ranked #230 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is located a very short easy walk from the Central Train Station.. Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful. Rooms were sparse small, and clean. We had a room with 2 single beds (they had mattresses that were very much like camping bedding) with a plastic cover that was not that pleasant. The view from the room was non existent and smells permeated our room from an adjacent restaurant grilling food (not part of the hotel) Stand up showers were good. We stayed there for 5 nights. Highlight of the stay was the breakfast service which included hot and cold food. plus excellent coffee. The person who was responsible for breakfast area was outstanding!!! The location couldn't be better and we walked everywhere. Watch out for the bikes

Room Tip: Our room did have air conditioning. If you are looking for somewhere central and you are not going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    191
    154
    42
    38
See reviews for
86
184
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked Multatuli via booking.com a long time in advance and so was a bit nervous that maybe something would be askew when we arrived. Quite contrary. We got in early in the morning, the front desk clerk knew we were coming and had asked housekeeping to make up the first room so it would be ready. What a treat! Free wifi, excellent Euro breakfast. Very convenient self storage of luggage gave me confidence leaving some valuables on the last day before our trip out of Amsterdam. (we kept the keys for the locker!). It was walkable, safe, and the staff were all excellent. The room was fresh and bright - although the shower stall was a bit leaky and maybe needs some updating. Other than no face cloths ( thats a Euro hotel problem across all!) i cant think of anything I'd change. Good value for the $$ IMO.

Room Tip: Book on booking dot com! No payment in advance, and up to 24 hour cancellation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is super close the the main train station and the city Centre. The room we stayed in was a perfect size and the beds were really comfy. The buffet breakfast is super tasty (I recommend to get there bang on 7am to get in first!) And the staff are very nice. The only only issue we had was that our minibar wasn't working so we reported this on the first night, and the man at reception said he would look into it. Nothing back so reported again on the 2nd day and we're told management were 'dealing' with it. Still nothing on the 3rd day but we were leaving so didn't really make a difference at this point. Apart from that one small thing, overall I'd recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PrincesskceB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is very centrally located near the train station in a very busy area. The hotel was clean and adequate with very helpful men at the front desk. Compared to others I've stayed at in Amsterdam it was grossly overpriced for a very basic, very small room with an unpleasant woman at reception. Although the room was prepaid the unpleasant woman at reception tried to get us to pay again saying the reservation may have been cancelled. It wasn't!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The people working there are definitely bunch of unprofessionals and have no truth or consistency in what they say or do. These guys wrote to me less than a week for my C/In that an authorisation on my card is required which will be released 10 days before our arrival. So we told them that since we do not have 10days left for our C/In, it makes no sense to charge an authorisation. They agreed to it and informed me that they will hold the room until “2pm only” post which they will release it. Well, my confirmation stated that it is a confirmed booking,I do not need to pay any deposit in advance and that I have free cancellation.So I tell them to make sure that my room is held until my arrival and not until 2pm.

Well the next mail I get is that they have cancelled my reservation. Such unprofessionals! Can you believe what is their explanation? They said that it is “their” mistake and that authorisations are released 10 days “after” arrival. So they cancelled my booking. Hence, know that if it is their mistake - your booking will be screwed up.I totally agree and am not surprised at all with the other reviewer, who mentioned that his deposit has not been paid back by the hotel.

Also know that you cannot trust these guys with what they say and what they do. Honestly I am so happy that I didn’t stay there, coz first, I do not want to stay in a place where such kind of people work and second, when I actually saw the place where the hotel is located, I felt relieved that it happened and they cancelled my booking. It was a blessing in disguise.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Priyanka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here over Easter weekend! The hotel was very easy to find once we left central station. A short walk across the road (located opposite the large bicycle park). Staff were pleasant and kept our luggage as we had arrived before our room was ready. Rooms are small but that didn't matter much as we didn't plan on spending much time there! Hotel was also clean! Breakfast consisted of an normal European breakfast, with lots of fruit, bread, ham and cheese! We were also treated with mini Easter eggs which was nice! Hotel is in a great location, The city tour bus leaves from a location 2 minutes from the hotel and the red light light district is only a 5 min MAX walk. Would definetly consider this hotel in future and would recommend! *Beware of steep stairs! As is in all buildings in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Rooms can get very warm! Air conditioning is noisey but needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eimz0289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

been at the hotel for four days ,the location is absolutely traffic, across the central station and close to Damrak (one of Amsterdam's main streets) and Dam square (minutes by walk).

The stuff was friendly and helpful, my room was comfortable and clean (with free Wifi) and breakfast was also very good.

Overall, great value for money in my opinion, i'll come there again for my next visit in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsachi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 367 in Amsterdam
922 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#165 of 367 in Amsterdam
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#122 of 367 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#170 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,510 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Multatuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Multatuli

Property: Hotel Multatuli
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Multatuli 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Multatuli is situated at the beginning of the "Grachtengordel" canal district of Amsterdam. The 17th century canals were added to the Unesco World Heritage List in 2010. The hotel is located in a listed national monument dating from 1744. Round trip boat tours can be taken from opposite the hotel. The Dam and the Anne Frank House are just a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Multatuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Multatuli Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing