We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Multatuli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Multatuli
Ranked #215 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    179
    136
    38
    33
See reviews for
75
167
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Terrible will never be back man at reception very cheeky and ignorant ruined our break do not use this hotel. We booked double room and got a cupboard room the man at reception just laughed and said your too late

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
166 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is tiny. There are not so many rooms to choose from. If possible, look for the suite in the first floor. If you are in summertime, there are a couple of rooms in the second floor but do not ask for a room in a higher floor, you will heat yourself! The staff is supportive but they can barely understand English language. Breakfast is not bad but the service staff is very noise. An advice: be patient with all of them since the location of the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriam1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Gozo Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is a few minutes walk from Amsterdam Cantraal and therefore is surrounded by restaurants, bars and shops and is near Dam Square. A few doors from it there is an Albert Heijn supermarket which is quite handy if you need to by some groceries. The hotel reception is nothing special but the breakfast room is very nice and the breakfast is great for a three star hotel. It includes fried eggs, bacon and sausages which is not common in three star hotels. Unfortunately our room was beneath the reception and the large window was on an internal courtyard whose floor level was above our floor. We had to navigate quite a few steps to go to our room. But the room had an airconditioner, a bar/fridge, a flat screen and a kettle with free tea or coffee. Free wifi was available in the room. The other snag was that the roof of the bathroom was not high enough to allow me to have a shower standing up and I am only 175 cm tall. But the staff were very nice so you tend to forget these few problems. The hotel keeps your bags if you are leaving the city late in the day. All in all I will stay again for a few days.

Room Tip: Try to book a room facing the road. The view would include the canal and harbour and it would not fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeGozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel was very central, which was valued, but the atmosphere of the place was poor, lacking as it did any meeting area apart from at breakfast, and the bathroom didn't have ventilation and unpleasant smells seemed to back up into our room when we returned, necessitating leaving the windows wide open during a severe cold snap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
334 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Centraal station, but not quite in the heart. Giving such a heavy price for tiny rooms, felt like a rip off. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast was decent. Views of the roadside are good, if you get the lower level rooms - do not take them! They are in the basement and have no ventilation nor light! I am sure there will be better rooms in this rate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Not knowing Amsterdam, I hunted the internet for a good inexpensive Hotel and what did I find- this one! The receptionist was kind and helpful when I had a credit card problem. The room was at the back of the Hotel, but quiet in a noisy city - such a relief. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. The fact that the fire alarm went off at 6.00 a.m. one morning didn't spoil anything.
Location: excellent for embarking on City visits and helpful information was provided. Perhaps availability of fresh milk would have helped a little for our night cuppa. We're glad we stayed her.

Room Tip: Email the Hotel in advance and you will find they help you very much to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#133 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#188 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Multatuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Multatuli

Property: Hotel Multatuli
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Multatuli 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Multatuli is situated at the beginning of the "Grachtengordel" canal district of Amsterdam. The 17th century canals were added to the Unesco World Heritage List in 2010. The hotel is located in a listed national monument dating from 1744. Round trip boat tours can be taken from opposite the hotel. The Dam and the Anne Frank House are just a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Multatuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Multatuli Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing