We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great sleep here”
Review of Hotel Multatuli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Multatuli
Ranked #240 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was my second time in Multatuli. First time was in year 2003 when I was returning home from Asia and had a stopover in Amsterdam for a day. Place is conveniently located just near the Amsterdam Centraal Station. So for those who are in a hurry the next day to leave for the airport this is the perfect location. When I stayed first time I received a room at the top and it had a nice view on the roofs and one yard nearby. All the ambient had that authentic Amsterdam feeling. Small, comfy and all that you need. I enjoyed the bed already at that time. I returned just today from Amsterdam and can report that quality of the bed stays the same. Some might not like the bed but actually I discovered my kind of a treat and I sleep as on a cloud. Bed is soft and I liked it. Room that was given this time to me was again small and with a bit of unique architecture as I had a window 3m high so to open it I need to operate a remote control :). Multatuli also this time succeed to provide me a good relaxing sleep, quality shower and a good breakfast. Check in was swift and they let me en before official check in time. Room is actually basic but it is very clean and bed is extremely comfy. I discovered that Dutch people know how to achieve a good relaxing sleep as it follows me that every time I’m in Holland I have a good sleep there. TV is old model but who cares about it? Minibar was stocked and the prices are normal for Amsterdam I guess. They are not too expensive I have to say. Although I did not used it. Breakfast was of a decent quality like it comes for the 3 star hotels. They have a funny Asian woman employed at the dining room and we exchanged some loughs while having breakfast :). Always nice to see a cheerful person so the day started brighter as usual. Will return again if another opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 522 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Multatui from April 25 to April 29th. The staff were helpful, happy, and the breakfast was plentyful, they do tell you to get to breakfast early due to the limited space or you will have to wait, understandable.The rooms and all other areas of the hotel were sparkling clean. And the beds were very comfortable, I do like a softer bed. The location is fantastic, it is a quick walk across the street from the Centraal Station. Easy walk to anything.
A great grocery store as you take a right out the door to the rounded steps.
We left our bags there in a locked locker for the day until our train left and when we got back to retrive them they offered us Tea or Coffee, so very friendly. I would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, convienent place to stay with a great breakfast.
Just a warning about television, if you are traveling with children be aware there are several adult chanels on the TV.

Room Tip: We stayed in 125 It was a twin and we did have a roll a way put in for one night, good size with onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinarena2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had two room a 3 (first floor) and a 4 (basement). The 3 bed room was ok the 4 bed room a bit cramped with 2 singles and a double, so not ideal for 4 sharing. The forth bed was also a fold away bed again not the most comfortable. Breakfast was good and the location was also very good. Overall it was ok for what we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyJoe37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Hotel was what we expected, and is good for a weekend break, even with young kids.

Well located for all kinds of public transport, and for walking around the city.

Negatives are soft beds and insufficient number of tables in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My heart sank when I was directed to my room in the basement and found there was a 'view' onto a concrete courtyard enclosed on all sides. But the plus point was that the room was exceptionally quiet; it was also clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and efficeient and breakfast was generous. I had no complaints and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bleakmidwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Good selection for a few days break - over expensive like all Amsterdam Hotels.
BEWARE - the breakfast room does not have sufficient capacity for the number of rooms/guests - we had to wait 30 minutes for a table! Other than that would recommend

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank over-the-top-origina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel is literally across the road (admittedly a busy and wide one) from Amsterdam Centraal. Staff were all friendly , welcoming and helpful. The room was sizeable and scrupuously clean. Breakfast was more than adequate. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totallyuntamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#56 of 373 in Amsterdam
961 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#179 of 373 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#171 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,188 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#121 of 373 in Amsterdam
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Multatuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Multatuli

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $139 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Multatuli 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Multatuli is situated at the beginning of the "Grachtengordel" canal district of Amsterdam. The 17th century canals were added to the Unesco World Heritage List in 2010. The hotel is located in a listed national monument dating from 1744. Round trip boat tours can be taken from opposite the hotel. The Dam and the Anne Frank House are just a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Multatuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Multatuli Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing