We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location near the train station”
Review of Hotel Multatuli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Multatuli
Ranked #243 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed here from 27 -30 May 2011. Hotel is just 200 metres across the right from the Central Train Station of beautiful Amsterdam. You come out of the central station and turn right. It is just 10 min. walk to the attractions such as Anne Frank house, must -visit flower market, pancake shop & Canal boat ride.Very convenient for a 1st timer to Amsterdam. It is nice, clean, and safe.
Although small, the rate is very reasonable with good breakfast included.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Use lift provided to get to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 527 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have just returned from a weekend break in Amsterdam and decided to stay at the Multatuli hotel based on previous Trip Advisor recommendations. The hotel is very close to the Centraal Station (5 minute walk), and is within easy walking distance of all of Amsterdam's down-town attractions. Although small, the room was perfectly adequate (we weren't in it much anyway!), the bed was exceptionally comfortable, and it was very quiet (we were able to sleep with the window open and not hear anything). Breakfast was excellent - a wide choice and 'buffet' style meant that we had a good start to each day!
We had a first floor room at the back - the stairs are very steep and narrow which may be a problem, and the small room meant that you had to squeeze past the bed to use the wardrobe. not a problem for us, but anyone of limited mobility may wish to ask for a ground floor room.... We left our luggage there all day before catching the train home at no charge.
I will definitely stay at the hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed here at the end of Sep 2011. The staff at the hotel were polite, friendly and helpful. The room, was a little on the small side, but as we were on a sightseeing trip it was largely irrelevant as we spent very little time there!

The hotel is located about two minutes away from the central station, meaning that there is very little distance to have to carry your bags (if to Amsterdam by train obviously)

Breakfast in the hotel was pleasant enough; there was bacon and eggs, a host of cold meats and cheese, plus toast, bread rolls, cereals etc, more than enough to set you up for the day!

one negative I can give is that I thought the rates for the rooms were a little pricey, but other than that a reasonable hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guildmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Good location, very clean room, excellent breakfast.
After reading the reviews was a little apprehensive but it really was a good hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My boyfriend & I were in Amsterdam for a week for his birthday. We booked the Multatuli for it's location & excellant price, we were not disappointed.
Directly opposite the Ibis, across the road from Central Station, the location is simply second to none. Two or three doors down from the supermarket, with a large selection of bars, restaurants & shops round the corner, some with discounts courtesy of a booklet from the hotel.
The staff were friendly, the bed comfortable & plenty of fluffy towels in the bathroom. There was a minibar, air-conditioning & a good shower. The buffet breakfast was excellant, with the usual choice of cereals, cold meats, cheese & hot selection. We loved the fishtank in the reception area that shared a wall with the breakfast room. The hotel also has the minicards display for discounts/freebies that are excellant value.
You can buy wi-fi access, 10 euros for 24 hours that can be used throughout your stay. Only one person in the room can be logged in at once.
We would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lescorpio211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We booked this hotel too late and the price was about 165 USD, it is not worth it at all. The hotel room was really small and it seems like a sleazy hotel more than a normal hotel for backpacker, if you get what i mean? It was snowing when we arrived, we shut all the windows to avoid the cold but the room got very hot because the heater seems to be heating up the room too quickly. Therefore we have to open the window but after a few minutes, we could hear melted snow water dripping off the roof and it got really cold again. I guess the hotel needs a little refurbishment with their ventilation and stuff. The only catch for staying in this hotel is it is close to the train station, thats it?

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

It is a nice hotel, near the train station, and the transports, and close to center, surround by a nice supermarket and also restaurants. The room is very large, with a huge bed, television, a bathrom with shower, and it´s clean.The breakfast is good, in continental way, the breakfast lady is very helpful, and sympatique, and also the staff people in general.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSIQUEFATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#56 of 374 in Amsterdam
969 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,236 reviews
Centrum
City Hotel Amsterdam
City Hotel Amsterdam
#167 of 374 in Amsterdam
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,242 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#170 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Multatuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Multatuli

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $136 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Multatuli 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Multatuli is situated at the beginning of the "Grachtengordel" canal district of Amsterdam. The 17th century canals were added to the Unesco World Heritage List in 2010. The hotel is located in a listed national monument dating from 1744. Round trip boat tours can be taken from opposite the hotel. The Dam and the Anne Frank House are just a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Multatuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Multatuli Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing