We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun filled trip!”
Review of Hotel Luxer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Luxer
Ranked #66 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fun filled trip!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

In the Centre of all of the fun! If you are travelling by car you can't drive directly outside the hotel, that got a little confusing and can be hard as the roads are narrow and you can't really just stop and wait. The car park offered is very cost effective compared to parking rates offered by others close by. However the car park if a good 20mins walk from the hotel. We did get lost on the way back but everything around is so beautiful that you don't mind:)
We had the room with three beds, and it was clean, tidy, and attractive. The noise can get a little distracting but its all part of the atmosphere. If your looking for quiet retreat hotel this is not it, if your looking for something central, cost effective, and a nice place to stay this is it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impressionist00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    425
    107
    23
    15
See reviews for
118
431
48
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our family of four stayed at this hotel for three nights, two people to each room. The rooms were very clean, tidy, and quiet. The location of this place was really fantastic -- very short walk to restaurants, clubs, cafes, museums, and Dam Square itself. Now, our family's standards are pretty high; we typically stay in very nice (5 star) hotels. This trip was just a stop en route to our main destination, so we were fine with going pretty cheap for this stay. This hotel was exactly what we wanted -- central location with nothing lavish, but not shabby or outdated in any way. The beds were comfortable and the linens crisp. The breakfast each morning was sufficient, the fruit being especially delightful in my opinion. The bar was also pleasant and good for a drink or two to wind down at night. We didn't interact with the staff a whole lot, but when we did for directions, etc., they were always very kind and attentive. Overall, the hotel was exactly what we were looking for. I highly recommend it.

This isn't pertaining to the hotel itself, but the street its located on isn't accessible for cars during certain times. We took a cab from the airport to the hotel, but were dropped off a few blocks away as the cab couldn't get beyond the raised posts that block traffic from continuing on the street. This meant we had to carry our luggage for about a five-minute, maybe more, walk. Not a big deal with wheeled suitcases, but if you have something like a heavy duffel bag, that won't be fun. I'm not sure when those posts are raised, but they aren't always because we were picked up by a cab from the hotel door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reed667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very good modern hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotless at all times.
Great location for everything as everything is in walking distance.
Would definitely recommend to people

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellynze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel is located 5 minutes walking distance from the central station and on the same street you can find plenty of stores, restaurants and bars.
The room is very clean, with tea/coffee boiler and tea bags on the table, the bed is incredibly comfortable.
The only 2 things I didn't like:
1) The bathroom is a bit small and there is no division between the shower and the rest so water leaks very easily everywhere.
2) Although I asked for a room far from the main street the quality of sleep was not great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Luxer for the 2nd time with my partner and it was amazing as the 1st time , 5 mins walk from central station so its location is great , the street is full of shops, restaurants , coffee shops and the rest , Dam square is also only 5 mins walk away , I wud also recommend booking breakfast as its plentyful and good value , all other attractions in this wonderful city are so close so I wud fully recommend this hotel and cant wait to go back

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Because of my work in Amsterdam (and not living there), I am staying a lot in Amsterdam. I've been in several hotels. In the centre, outside the centre, 5 stars, 2 stars. Everything. I even have been in the hotel #1 of Tripadvisor in Amsterdam. But this hotel is the best by far.

The location is perfect. It's right in the centre. You don't need to walk, you are already there. Still, the rooms are perfectly quiet. I am not a great sleeper, but in this hotel it's no problem to get my rest.

As a businesswoman staying in a hotel by myself, I would never sit down at the hotelbar. At Hotel Luxer I would and I did. This is because the workers and the owner of the place will take care of you in a good way. You don't have to worry about "bad attention" if you know what I mean. :)

They have a really good breakfast for a good and normal price. The breakfast is € 8,-.

I know this sounds like they have no negative points, and that's about right. Well at least, I could not find them.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasqia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,307 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 367 in Amsterdam
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxer

Property: Hotel Luxer
Address: Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luxer 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luxer is located right in the centre of Amsterdam's old and historical heart. This hotel is located in a completely renovated building and we offer you all the comfort you may expect from a 3-star hotel. The historic heart of the city, Amsterdam-Centrum impresses with world-famous attractions such as the Anne Frank House, Red Light District and Royal Palace. Enjoy a boat tour past traditional canal houses, old bridges and converted warehouses. Mornings can be spent browsing through the flea market on Waterlooplein, a square near the Jewish Museum. The Flowermarket is open 7 days a week and a must-see for every visitor. The picturesque Jordaan area radiates a unique atmosphere, thanks to its cosy cafés, art galleries and local boutiques.Hip clubs and trendy cocktails bars make up Amsterdam’s colourful nightlife. The hotel has a cozy bar and lounge. The Central Station, shopping area, restaurants, the Nieuwmarkt and the Dam Square are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.There is a (public) car park in the direct vicinity of the hotel, which is easy to reach by car.Our amicable staff are ready to give a warm welcome to our private or business guests, and will make sure that you feel at home during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Luxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Luxer Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing