We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden hotel in Red Light area”
Review of Hotel Luxer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luxer
Ranked #68 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
South Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Golden hotel in Red Light area”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you want the classical Amsterdam experience, this is the place.

A second visit to Amsterdam in a couple of months. This time we needed to stay close to the central railway to allow convenience for an early morning flight. Initially concerned due to its location bang smack in the middle of the red light area - but absolutely not a problem. I would send my grandma there. (Actually judging by some of the ladies of the night, it appears many have!)

The hotel was exceptionally clean, the rooms modern, excellent bathroom. Great bed and linen. Breakfast looked great but we opted for one of the many options in close proximity.

Reception varied. One staff member was totally indifferent to guests. Actually, he was totally disinterested. Not the best of welcomes. Thankfully the great rooms made up for his attitude. To be fair, the next person we encountered on reception was very helpful.

In summary. Great value, great location and a classy hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    418
    107
    23
    15
See reviews for
117
427
47
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is at the top of Warmoestraat - thats 1 minute walk from central station! This area is VERY BUSY 24/7, its busling with coffee-shop visitors, red light voyeurs and is also the location of a number of Gay Bars. I think its the most interesting street I've ever walked on, the vast mix of different people from all over the world make it very exciting to watch/be part of.

The hotel itself seems to be either brand new, or had a major over haul. Its very sharp, smart and modern. The rooms were a good size (for amsterdam). We had a comfortable double/twin room it had wide screen LCD TV, wardrobe, tea/coffee facilities, shower, basin and WC. The window in the hotel was on the room, and could not be opened. However the room did have air conditioning system. Everything felt brand-new and the hotel and rooms were COMPLETELY SPOTLESS. Staff were very friendly and spoke good English.

All this said, it was quite expensive, so for the price, we got what we expected (a good hotel in a central location, very clean, modern and safe).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Belfasttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay the location was excellent as was value for money. All night bar service was fab, it was great to go back for a drink when all the pubs had shut! V. Nice walk in shower too!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephstaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

bed was awful to sleep in..fan in toilet/shower room didnt work & the window would not open & during our trip it was hot weather so didnt help.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Luxer was an important part of a very enjoyable stay in Amsterdam. It is a great little hotel right in the Centrum district, the heart of the city attractions including the red light district. The rooms were extremly clean and quiet and while compact, a comfortable size for two for those who only see their hotel as a base between activities. It took us only about 3 minutes to walk there with our luggage from the central rail station. The street it is on is full of character and restaurants providing an impressively high standard of affordable food. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Free wifi internet with a strong signal. I can thoroughly recommend the Luxer and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We booked the room through Late Rooms who guaranteed a good price but they were selling rooms a lot cheaper at the desk. I found the hotel expensive with what we paid - £185 per night!! For what it was to be honest. Newly refurbished so it was very smart and although our room was made in the morning they can't have dusted for weeks I could write my name on the bedside lamb stand. Our room was on the ground floor so was well away from the street noise which was great. Friendly staff who let us check in early and looked after our bags putting them in our room while we were looking around the city. We didn't try the breakfast although it smelt nice.
Good location, walking distance to lots of places. BBC television which was great to have on while getting ready. Would worry about street noise if placed on the front of the hotel though. All in all a nice place but I think we paid over the odds for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,296 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxer

Property: Hotel Luxer
Address: Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luxer 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luxer is located right in the centre of Amsterdam's old and historical heart. This hotel is located in a completely renovated building and we offer you all the comfort you may expect from a 3-star hotel. The historic heart of the city, Amsterdam-Centrum impresses with world-famous attractions such as the Anne Frank House, Red Light District and Royal Palace. Enjoy a boat tour past traditional canal houses, old bridges and converted warehouses. Mornings can be spent browsing through the flea market on Waterlooplein, a square near the Jewish Museum. The Flowermarket is open 7 days a week and a must-see for every visitor. The picturesque Jordaan area radiates a unique atmosphere, thanks to its cosy cafés, art galleries and local boutiques.Hip clubs and trendy cocktails bars make up Amsterdam’s colourful nightlife. The hotel has a cozy bar and lounge. The Central Station, shopping area, restaurants, the Nieuwmarkt and the Dam Square are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.There is a (public) car park in the direct vicinity of the hotel, which is easy to reach by car.Our amicable staff are ready to give a warm welcome to our private or business guests, and will make sure that you feel at home during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Luxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Luxer Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing