We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague”
Review of Hotel Galerij

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Galerij
Ranked #322 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We were here in October and booked three nights. As soon as we arrived we thought it looked rather dingy in the lobby, but once we made it to the room we were absolutely disgusted.

Feces stains on the floor, blood stains, and about a dozen other stains I don't even want to think what they are from. These stains looked new and unwashed. The double bed mentioned on hotels.ca was actually two cots with more than half the springs completely missing or broken. The thin mattress was touching the floor and it was dirty. The sheets were dirty, and they had a few large holes.

We tried to save a few bucks after a long trip, but I would have rather slept on a park bench in the rain than stay there.

We asked reception for a refund, they refused. We asked to speak to the manager or owner, they refused (although we discovered later the guy who was refusing was either the owner or manager).

Eventually after piles of emails and calls to hotels.ca we got a full refund for all three nights since the hotels description was not accurate at all. We had to send them pictures. We found another nice hotel for the same price and it was in a nice residential neighbourhood near Leidseplein.

Unless you are on an extremely strict budget and have absolutely no standards on where you sleep, I would avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaneL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 150 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2010

It is how it is described in the web.
Stayed at single room. Small and clean, a bit worn out bed linen. Breakfast just bread and marmalades, even not a toaster...
Location is good and renovation is actually going, painting and some refurnishing.
Officially one star but in European standard I would make this low standard hotel better lovely hostel and with some en-suites. Service is OK. And the price is key factor. Stairs are sportish it has it own atmosphere

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

It was really good..in the middle of the city..very very cheap..they take and park your car at a reasonable price and you can smpke too..i'll b back to amsterdam and defenetly to this hotel

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank TheKike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

I read the reviews and they scared me a little but the price was so cheap and after all, it was Amsterdam. I didn't care about the size of the room, just cleanliness and that it wasn't. The room itself was not large but not as small as others in Europe. We were on the top floor and did have to climb all the spiral stairs to the top with luggage but had anticipated this already. It's a canal house afterall so it did make it a bit charming. One of the front desk men was nice, the other a little suspicious. The carpet was absolutely the dirtiest I have ever seen. Stains everywhere, no telling from what exactly. I'm not a picky person generally, a clean room with a bed and a warm shower (which we did have) is usually all it takes to satisfy me and it was almost obtained - but it just wasn't clean. Yes, the staff came in and changed the bed linens and put new towels in the bath and took out the trash, but the mattresses were stained and again, the carpet filthy. The towels didn't smell fresh and the blankets on the bed were never washed - I don't mean while we were staying there but I think quite possibly EVER. I wished we would have spent more money for a cleaner room I'm sorry to say.
We did not indulge in the breakfast, but Sara's Pancakes next door was the best thing about this hotel! The location in general was great just wouldn't ever do it again. This was my least favorite hotel in all of Europe. I felt like I needed a shower after the shower, I actually wore flip flops in it. In one word - "ICK"

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tlee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

I stayed here with two friends and we didn't pay very much for the hotel. Just as well we didnt as its basically a B&B masquerading as a hotel. We were on the top floor which meant climbing loads of steep stairs which wasnt enjoyable with baggage but it wasnt the end of the world.

The room was a decent enough size with a good shower but the carpet was littered with dubious-looking stains and the bedsheets didnt fit too well. I had the misfortune of sharing the double bed with a mate and the bed was pretty small it must be said, although it wasn't uncomfortable.

We didnt sample the inclusive breakfast as we woke up rather late, but we did notice a nasty whiff at the foot of the stairs by the entrance door.

In summary, the hotel is pretty grubby and not for those who are after luxury or even budget chain hotel standards. But for a few mates who only washed, changed and slept at the hotel, it fitted the bill adequately without rinsing our wallets. It is without doubt the worst hotel i've stayed in, but you get what you pay for and we really didnt pay much for it so we cant complain.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

I stayed here as a friend booked the hotel as part of a weekend away. This was the worst 2 nights accommodation of my life, the place was filthy and left me traumatised.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Barneymorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We were worried about staying at this hotel after reading the previous reviews but have been pleasently surprised by the standard of the hotel!!

We stayed in a double room and it was impeccibly clean and serviced everyday. It was also an ensuite room!! The bed was also very comfy!!

The staff were friendly and helpful and although we didnt have the breakfast (late nights!!) it smelt lovely every morning!!

There are a few stairs to climb as in the other reviews but that is the same everywhere in Amsterdam. The church bells werent loud enough to bother us in our room.

Would definately stay here again.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Kym83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 374 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#281 of 374 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 374 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 374 in Amsterdam
486 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#210 of 374 in Amsterdam
414 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#315 of 374 in Amsterdam
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galerij

Address: Raadhuisstraat 43, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $92 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Galerij 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Galerij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galerij Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing