We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel stay ever...”
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #291 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Worst hotel stay ever...”
Reviewed July 4, 2006

What can I say. We were traveling with our sons, the hotel says it's within walking distance to everything, including the redlight district. It does not say that it is IN the red light district with a "coffee house" on one said (you can smell the aroma in the rooms), and a sex shop across from it. During our free breakfast, my son was drinking orange juice, and the glass actually broke around the rim, and unfortunately our son swallowed the glass (he's okay thank goodness!!!!), but the staff was not concerned. When I walked out to our car, I was basically tore down by the bar maid in the reception area because I did not give her my key before I walked out, and when I told her my wife had it, she was still very very nasty. The rooms are about as big as a closet (We had one of the "big triple" rooms), no closet, about a 12" TV with no remote, one step up from a futon for beds, and carpet that was coming up. Not to mention on a hot day, there are no fans or anything. Very VERY noisy at night as well! Do not waste your time or money staying here!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    203
    166
    102
    147
See reviews for
43
203
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 17, 2006

The Old Quarter is excellent value for money, the staff are friendly and will give any information on the local area that you may require. It is situated within a five minute walk of central station. I have stayed here a few times and it is ideal if a party of people are travelling. The rooms are comfortable and I personally have had no problems staying here. I frequently visit Amsterdam and when staying overnight I always try to stay at the Old Quarter as it has everything that you need, the breakfast is just what you need to start the day and if you have an evening meal the choice is good and very hearty.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

I stayed here with 4 lady friends for my hen trip in April 2004. I think when people book accomodation in Amsterdam they need to bear in mind several things:

~ This city is always full, therefore certain standards are not as rigorously kept to as in other European countries.
~ Buildings are tall and narrow so there are lots of steep, narrow and scary staircases with not many lifts.

If you know this before you go then it should make your trip more pleasant.

I say all that above because Old Quarter is basic, a little run down and full of scary staircases. However the rooms are cheap (even for AMS), the pub is good fun and you are on Warmoestraat which will please any porn or weed fan :-)

Stay here for a short break if you are a student (or have student standards) or literally just want a bed and a shower in between 'coffees'. A great location, a lovely view of the canal or super busy street, friendly staff and pub downstairs!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrs Teee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENO, NV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2006

I spent 2 weeks in Amsterdam in Oct 2005 at the Old Quarter Hotel. It had been recommended by a friend, but I warn you I do not recommend it. My deluxe room was not deluxe and the food offered in the restaurant was deplorable. They offered a free breakfast with the room, which I refused to eat. My room was not serviced for the entire 2 weeks I was there. There are many other wonderful options in this wonderful city.

Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Co.Meath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2006

This place is ideal if you just want somewhere SIMPLE to stay for a few days! Its great value for money. Its in an ideal location just off Damrak square, close to the train station, loads of shops and of course coffee shops! And for the boys...the redlight district is very close! The rooms are clean and the restaurant downstairs serves lovely food! The staff are very friendly and very helpful! I would recommend this hotel to students, groups and couples. I know other people that have stayed in this hotel and they have decribed it as a cosy little gem!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 21, 2006

We just returned from a three-night trip to Amsterdam. Just about everything was booked before we left, but we were lucky enough to find a room in the Old Quarter. The hotel was incredibly easy to find, as it is just outside Central Station (which was a great relief). This is a wonderful location to be in! The hotel is located on the outside block of the Red Light District, and bars, coffee shops and restaurants are lined up outside the hotel's door. It's also extremely convenient for getting anywhere in Amsterdam, as everything is just a short walk away or easily accessible from Central Station.

Upon arrival, we were somewhat surprised to find the check in at a the bar of a pub. We were "buzzed in" through a back door of the pub, to find a clean hotel behind it! It was an interesting shift from pub to hotel.

We had booked a twin room with a private bathroom. We were expecting to be able to push the two twin beds together, but surprise, surprise! The room was actually nearly too small to do so! We managed to - but just barely, the walls must have been about 6 feet apart (if not less). The sink was located in the room itself. The bathroom contained a toilet and "shower". There was actually no stall, but a shower set up in the tiolet room (ie. the toilet would get wet when showering). But the shower was warm and nice! On a whole the room was small, but cozy, clean, and safe. And it was quiet too! We were also pleased to find clean towels on our bed every afternoon.

The staff was incredibly friendly! There is always someone around the bar of the pub as you have to deposit keys when leaving, and pick them up when you come in. Not to mention someone has to buzz you back to the hotel (for added security). The breakfast is wonderful as well!! Make sure to try the freshly squeezed orange juice. :) We also ate lunch there one day, and the food was great (try the shrimp!).

On a whole, we had a great experience at the Old Quarter. If you want a wonderful location, friendly staff, a clean, quiet, and safe place to lay your head, and don't care about unnecessary space, stay here!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2006

A group of us travelled to Amsterdam for a weekend at the end of March 2006.
The "hotel" is attached to a pub (nice pub with nice food)and the location is very central.
However we booked 3 double rooms months in advance and when we were directed to our rooms we were all on seperate floors with my partner and I in the basement - please see the photo, i could have cried it was so hideous - I have plenty of experience travelling and backpacking and have never (with one exception) stayed in such a bad place. The room was in the basement down these narrow steep stairs and the only other room down there was the bars store room where you were constantly subjected to the entire staff thumping down the stairs and banging aroung in the store room at all hours of the morning and night. The room was damp and have an awful stench. The canal came right up to our window cill. See second photo.

When we complained we were told that they have no other room available and that the room is lovely and we had no reason to complain - what was our problem.

I would not recommend staying here under any circumstances.

Helpful?
4 Thank eilisnimhidhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#232 of 368 in Amsterdam
440 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#173 of 368 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#307 of 368 in Amsterdam
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,036 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#327 of 368 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Property: Hotel Old Quarter
Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing