We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel on a Budget”
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #301 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average Hotel on a Budget”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends in June 2014, we were allocated a room in the block across the street. The facilities were very basic but the room was kept clean. Got a good nights sleep when required, but still a great location for the bars/cafe's in the centre of Amsterdam. Only downside was the group of gentlemen standing adjacent to the front door at night who could have passed as extra's from Scarface. They were rather annoying, but if you don't make eye contact they'll leave you alone however wouldn't have felt comfortable if I was on my own. Hotel staff were great, checkout was 11am and our flight wasn't until 10pm and they were happy for me to snooze towards the rear of the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stup1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    199
    164
    100
    147
See reviews for
42
200
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

In my opinion, the location is the best thing about this Hotel! however the rooms are average and a bit old....getting to your room is also difficult as they have extremely steep stairs!!!

Also it gets a bit difficult to sleep at night with all the noise from the street. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

It has to be said that the location of the hotel is brilliant. Short walk from the station and in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam.

That and the friendly man on reception is about as good as it gets. We had a twin room on the top floor and it was "cosy to say the least". I would advise you check the details of your room if you can as we feel we stayed in a hostel over hotel (See photo)

Showers are communal and couldn't shower for too long as the water then seeps outside into the hall. Towels weren't changed once and wifi didn't work on the top floor, despite paying for it.

Room Tip: Avoid top floors if you want wifi connection and make a point of asking about details of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

10 people stayed in this hotel for my stag party hotel and staff were excellent and very friendly and great food to. I would have no problem booking again which I will be doing and no problem telling friends about this hotel, could not have asked for a better hotel with the best location

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here earlier this month, having stayed before several times. The rooms remain basic, and ours overcrowded with three people in a very small space, but the prices have increased lately with no improvement in the quality of the rooms. We had no discount for cramming three single beds into a small room. The staff remain friendly, and the breakfast was satisfactory, but our stag group is looking around a different place to go next time.

Room Tip: 4th floor room overlooking the boating area had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#225 of 367 in Amsterdam
433 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#304 of 367 in Amsterdam
642 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#174 of 367 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,306 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#324 of 367 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Property: Hotel Old Quarter
Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing