We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheery.”
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #296 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed January 14, 2014

stayed here over the weekend, room was not that great but you get what you pay for.. very very good location and close to everything you need. staff were very friendly and accomodating which makes up for the room. its about the experience not just the room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liams23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 741 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very good location just in the heart of Amsterdam. Train station, bars, restaurants, coffee shops, red light.. everything is just around the corner.
Rooms were small and it smelled as if guests had been smoking inside since the 16th century. Bathroom with a shower was down the hall. The bar/restaurant downstairs was shut during the night so the rooms were quiet. If you want to live in the center then I guess you have to deal with the tiny rooms but I still believe it was a bit overpriced when it comes to other European cities.
Even though the travel websites say you can pay with a credit card then actually you cannot.
If you are not too picky and do care about location, then for a reasonable price it is worth staying at Old Quarter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kassimati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

ive visited the old quarter for 10yrs now an ive ad 10 newyears there ..this one will be my last which is sad .i herd it had new management so i thought wel ill giv it a go bad mistake .it cost ALOT more money theres no atmushere like before all the old staff have gone except for a couple ..the staff made it ..they were the best a little family..the chef is still ther an hes still brill but the menus terible theyv cut it down so much hardley no dutch food its a boring menu..feel quite sorry for the chef he can do so much hes wasted there..the rooms are the same you get what u pay for wel before i was fine we that now not a chance for what there charging..i thought we the price going up theyd refurbished but no just upolstery in the bar which wernt needed..my wardrobe was falling apart each draw ad a different front basically its all bonfire wood ..but for me the happiness gone an the family gone an so i am ..its such a shame..if anyone knows were robert an nancy have gone please let me no

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here over the last few days for the wintermarket. Rooms were tidy and clean and what I'd expect for the money paid. The bar restaurant was lovely and the staff were more than accommodating. The food was just unreal! All home made produce and the steak was melt in your mouth! Really relaxed environment. Would defiantly eat here again and if I was on a budget again I would stay here again for a night at the most.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jscsmith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sohail D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

YEP ! its this type of hotel , you go there once and you wonder why the you didnt wanted to book something a bit more expensive cos now you regret ..impossible to sleep 3 hours straight in this HOSTEL....doors banging , paper thin walls, disgusting bathroom, smelly room, old carpet , cold temperature i mean no hitter on ....you can hear everything from the street just down the hotel and considering this is the warmoesstraat, pretty busy 24h/7 its pretty noisy ....

so yeah avoid this place except if you just need a place for your bags

the people who work there (no locals) make you feel like you are disturbing them every time you talk them , they are rude , not happy to be there

only the "chef" is a nice guy and will always have a smile for you ..

SO basically dont go there ....it was probably the tenth time i came to Amsterdam and i ll never do that mistake again , better to go to a normal hostel instead of paying for this cheap hotel

never again

Room Tip: theres no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank true fact f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The room was as basic as you can get. 2 small beds in a room barely bigger than those beds. More of a closet really. Shared toilet and shower were clean overall and the catacombe feeling of the hallways has its charm but 70 euros a night for the cheapest room definetely there, wasn't worth it. Location excellent and cool staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#231 of 374 in Amsterdam
458 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 374 in Amsterdam
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#183 of 374 in Amsterdam
274 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#235 of 374 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $87 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing