We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location...TINY rooms”
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #293 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location...TINY rooms”
Reviewed August 4, 2008

The location of the hotel was fantastic, although we did have a little trouble finding it...a local tramp guided us there in the end :S

We were quite shocked at the size of the bedroom. We had booked a twin room, thinking we could push the beds together. But when we walked in, there were two NARROW single beds top to toe with each other against the wall, and barely enough room for my boyfriend and I to pass the beds. We ended up folding up the beds and putting the matrasses on the floor so that we could sleep together.

We opted out of the ensuite option, and found the toilet and shower to be rather dirty.

Breakfast was a con, and we only ate at the hotel once.

Staff were ok, and we were glad to be able to leave our room keys at reception, and for a 'sort-of' 24 hour reception. After-hours it seemed to be a cleaner or someone who was handing out guests' keys.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size of rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manzdavz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    198
    161
    99
    145
See reviews for
42
195
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We paid 82.50 Euro a day for a twin bed room with ensuite and breakfast included. The location was great, right in the Red Light district ( yes it is safe) and close to the Railway station. The room was very small but we were expecting that this is Amsterdam after all. The linen was clean, and so was the ensuite. The bathroom did have a funny odour but as we were on a canal that was to be expected too. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast included in the price was quite filling and enjoyable.

  • Liked — proximity to transport and night life
  • Disliked — the access stairs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank digbybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2008

I'll give them the fact that it seemed clean....but holy crap I couldn't believe how small the room was. My sister and I basically stayed in a room the size of a closet. Our twin beds were end to end and there wasn't even 40 cm beside. The washrooms were pretty smelly and the stairs could possibly give you nose bleeds. You could probably find something cheaper and bigger farther from the tourist trap of the red light district....I'm talking it's only one street away. What we didn't realize is that everything is close being 'right in the heart of it all' isn't necessary. REALLY! So yes, it's clean and if you're looking to be one street from the red light district stay here.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KathLong28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Terrible. Me and my boyfriend had booked an Ensuite Twin for € 115 a night. While the location is excellent (easy to find, close to Central Station, bars, Red Light District,…), it is easily the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed at. Would never stay there again and do not recommend it. If you don’t mind dirty rooms and unfriendly staff, this is the hotel for you. Note: The pictures on the hotel website are nothing like the real thing!

Our room wasn’t in the main house but across the road. We had to climb up a narrow and steep staircase with loose handrails to get to our room on the second floor. There was only one light in form of a plain light bulb on the first floor, so you had to be very careful at night.

The room was fairly big: a double bed, a chest of drawers, a wardrobe, a sofa and a little table with a tiny TV. Again, no proper lamp, just a light bulb. The whole room had this unique prison charm (see photos). The drawers were full of dust and dirt, but the bed sheets seemed clean and the bed was comfortable. The towels were full of brown and yellow stains. Absolutely disgusting.
There was constantly water dropping from the shower, and as the curtain was too short the bathroom floor was always wet.
Another problem was the noise. One might think this wouldn’t be an issue on the second floor, but the walls and windows were so thin that you could hear everything from the street – I kept thinking that the windows were open, but they weren’t. It didn’t make a difference. We could have slept on the pavement and the noise level would have been the same.

The free breakfast consisted of eggs with bacon, toast, butter, jam and coffee or tea. A full English breakfast with beans etc. was € 5, and a tiny glass of orange juice was € 3 extra. What a rip-off! The organisation was really poor, I had the impression that the waitresses didn’t know what they were doing.
As we are both vegetarians we ordered the egg without the bacon. There was no problem on the first day, but on the second day we had to wait a very long time. When my boyfriend politely asked a waitress she just ignored him, and when I asked her a few minutes later she replied: “It takes longer without the bacon!” Duh. Worst excuse I’ve ever heard. After 30 minutes and a few more inquiries we finally got our toast, jam and eggs – with bacon!! I had to complain again and after a total 35 minutes (my coffee was cold by then), I finally got an egg without bacon. Afterwards we complained to the hotel manager who was very friendly and apologised for the inconvenience and promised us some extras. The next day we got cheese, milk and orange juice for free. At least something.

Still, I wouldn’t recommend this sorry excuse of a hotel to anybody. If you do stay there, make sure you bring your own towels and enough disinfectant.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms, unfriendly staff, breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sp1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

This is good budget hotel in a great location. But it is really a budget hotel. We were in room 24 which has 3 twin beds but they are narrower then regular twins. Our room had a bathroom but some rooms use the hall bathroom. Room 24 has a great view of the canal plus open windows allow a nice breeze in the room. Bedding was clean and towels were thin but worked. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A breakfast of fried eggs, bacon, bread, and coffee or tea was included. We three ladies felt safe there. But this is truely a budget hotel so if you want the extras, don't stay here. But if you just want a clean, safe place to lay your head at night, this could work for you.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Location spot on for centre, we were let down by hotel only reserving 2 rooms not three, one of the rooms was a corridor with 2 camp beds end to end and a very small ensuit !!! manager John was not helpfull at all he said in a round about way like it or lump it. We ended up 2 couples sharing a shop converted into a 4 bed , well 2 bed 2 camp bed room in the sister hotel round the corner.As it was at the side of the road with a very large window the noise was very bad , so no sleep was had at all. Breakfast was nice the bread was realy fresh. I would recommend BUT check the rooms before you pay.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank k9ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2008

3 rooms were booked but only 2 available when checking in. attitude was not good but was offered a luxury room further down the street. 2 couples ended up sharing this larger room which was not luxury Rooms did not match the website description but were basically clean. Would advise to check rooms before paying on arrival.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank wood1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 367 in Amsterdam
427 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#300 of 367 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#180 of 367 in Amsterdam
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,294 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#317 of 367 in Amsterdam
655 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#250 of 367 in Amsterdam
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Property: Hotel Old Quarter
Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing