We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For this prices I didn't expect something as good as that !”
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #293 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I used to go to Amsterdam for the Week-end, I have already been 3 times in this hotel and each time, it was perfect.
The service is great, the front office agent is very nice always smiling and happy to see you here.
The complimentary breakfast is perfect to start a good days in this beautiful city.

Last time, we were udgrated to a canal view room and I really appreciate that, the view was incredible.

Room Tip: Canal View is awesome !!!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Old Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 729 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in a canal view room with a bathroom.
Check in was easy, and we had our bags stored in the cupboard - as ours were big bags, it was easy to find them again however if you had small bags they would quickly get lost.
Our room was on the 3rd floor - very basic amenities however the view was simply amazing!
Wifi is free when in reception and the women working the bar & reception were very lovely & welcoming.
We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PugglyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay here for work because all other hotels full. Absolutely horrific room like a prison cell - one dim bulb, too dark to read. Filthy and everything was broken - TV, lights, soap dispenser. Stained towels and bed linen. Is hard to believe the pics here are the same hotel I went to. The bar was perfectly nice everything else was terrible. And it cost 150 euro a night yet was worse than any hostel I stayed in backpacking.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura1973work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Old Quarter for a hen weekend, we booked for 18 and everyone enjoyed, rooms were clean and adequate for what we wanted. Was in great location central for everywhere we wanted to go. Staff were excellent from the moment we arrived until we departed really friendly and couldnt do enough for us. Service was great at the bar and food was excellent. This has to be the cheapest hotel that I have stayed in and probably the best staff. (have stayed in many big hotels and staff not friendly). When we return to Amsterdam would definately be booking the Old Quarter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thekirbys1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and were more than happy with our stay. We had a canal view room which was small but clean and comfortable with a small bathroom with a shower. It included an adequate breakfast of bacon and eggs or full English breakfast. It was an excellent location and was close to railway station, all kinds of restaurants and fast food, "coffee shops", and many attractions. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to be in the bar/restaurant there where the food and service was very good. We would not hesitate to stay there again. I would recommend a canal view room to get you away from the street noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normal1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a good location, within 10 minutes walk from the central station and lots of bars, restaurants around. In fact, check-in was located inside a restaurant reception area.

The room was on the 3rd floor in the building opposite the restaurant where I checked in. It was tiny and had a double bed which took up most of the room. Furnishings looked cheap and basic, but usable. Small tv with so-so reception. Surprisingly big and clean bathroom with a toilet, shower and sink.

Soundproofing wasn’t great. The area is full of bars and restaurants, and at night you could hear people talking and laughing on the streets till late at night. Bad news if you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast is prepared fresh at the restaurant, with bacon, eggs and toast. It’s so nice to have freshly-prepared breakfast.

They had a store room where you can store your luggage if you came too early before check-in or if you still wanted to wander around the city after check-out. A word of caution, if you are one of the first to put your bags in, you could come back at a later time to a full store room, and you would had to dig through the mountain of bags to locate your bag underneath (haha!).

In short: good location, light sleepers beware!

Room Tip: Higher floors less noise
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you just want to have a place to crash, close to the station, in the middle of Dam Square then this is a great place. If you're looking for nice accommodations with your own private bath then this is not the place. The room we had stunk of cigarette smoke and was tiny for 3 adults. But it served it purpose as a place to spend the night since we were only in Amsterdam for a night.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank annettelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#233 of 371 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,342 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 371 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#178 of 371 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#298 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,613 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#218 of 371 in Amsterdam
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $102 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing