We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality and location”
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #294 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at The Old Quarter at the end of September. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. The room was spacious and very clean. It was basic, but we only slept and showered there so didn't need anything else. Breakfast, traditional and started the day off well. We would definately stay there again. Just 2 minute walk from Centrum station. GREAT

Room Tip: Twin with en-suite
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich2pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Old Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 729 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is the worst place I've ever been: on arrival I was given a room in the annex. At the door, on the street there was a lot of waste, including a toilet! the room was on the fourth floor without elevator, the bathroom on the third floor. the staircase was steep. The room was in the attic, no windows; in the room there was no light, but there were mice. the staff was nice to change the bulb. The breakfast was decent, but for 50 euro a night I expect something more

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marycri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We chose a room overlooking the canal, and requested a room on the the first floor to avoid walking up and down stairs. It was fine.
The hotel location is within easy walking of the station, not far from The Dam, and on the edge of the Red Light District. The women in our group never felt threatened, and there are plenty of restaurants nearby to choose from.
Nothing spectacular, but OK for a fleeting visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good location for being in the center of the old town, and staff and pub are fine. The room was the big concern: it was not clean, the bed had burn holes in the worn out mattress, huge gaps in the door allowed billows of smoke and hall noise into the room, the lights barely lit the room and reading at night was impossible. I would not return, especially given the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked the hotel several months ago and were really exited about our trip, until we read some pretty horrendous reviews in Aug/Sept 2012 which made us a little nervous about our booking.......We didn't need to be nervous. The hotel is an absolute gem of a find, the best we have stayed in for the price. Clean and basic rooms with great views over the canal, excellent authentic Dutch food and a fantastic shower wich we needed to bring us round a few times !!!The best part though, apart from the best central location you could want for were the staff, friendly, funny, courteous and helpfull. Overall a fantastic hotel, will definitely stay there again - thanks guys for an amazing few days

Room Tip: Canal view is a must and be sure to try the food in the restaurant in the evening, excellent and wel...
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated and the staff are very friendly and will answer all your questions.
The room was exactly as we expected for the location and price and was clean. Hot water was plentiful.
I will be staying there again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank geoffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#230 of 371 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#144 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,344 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 371 in Amsterdam
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#183 of 371 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#220 of 371 in Amsterdam
199 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#298 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $98 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing