We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #300 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    187
    153
    96
    142
See reviews for
42
185
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good location for being in the center of the old town, and staff and pub are fine. The room was the big concern: it was not clean, the bed had burn holes in the worn out mattress, huge gaps in the door allowed billows of smoke and hall noise into the room, the lights barely lit the room and reading at night was impossible. I would not return, especially given the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked the hotel several months ago and were really exited about our trip, until we read some pretty horrendous reviews in Aug/Sept 2012 which made us a little nervous about our booking.......We didn't need to be nervous. The hotel is an absolute gem of a find, the best we have stayed in for the price. Clean and basic rooms with great views over the canal, excellent authentic Dutch food and a fantastic shower wich we needed to bring us round a few times !!!The best part though, apart from the best central location you could want for were the staff, friendly, funny, courteous and helpfull. Overall a fantastic hotel, will definitely stay there again - thanks guys for an amazing few days

Room Tip: Canal view is a must and be sure to try the food in the restaurant in the evening, excellent and wel...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated and the staff are very friendly and will answer all your questions.
The room was exactly as we expected for the location and price and was clean. Hot water was plentiful.
I will be staying there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank geoffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed in room 41 over the weekend of 21st September... The hotel is pretty easy to find, just round the back of the Grasshopper on Damrak.. Rooms are basic but all you need for Amsterdam. Our room looked out directly over the harbour at the top of Damrak and had big double windoes that opened fully.. It can be a bit noisey, but you have to expect that in a city centre on a weekend evening.. the boats in the morning however are a great wakeup call for breakfast! The breakfast incluided in the room is bacon and eggs... 2 eggs with half a piece of bacon cooked in the middle of them, but you can up it to a full english for 5 euro's... (same price in other restaurants).
There is no tea or coffee in the rooms and you have to buy it from the bar for 2 euro.
I have stayed in Amsterdam many times (10+) and can honestly say when you combine the price and location its unbeatable. I will be booking this hotel for all future stays and will be asking for the same room. I personally found no justification for some of the negative comments I read about the staff before going, everyone seemed pleasant, they can be a little short sometimes but this is the Dutch way, they mean nothing by it!

Best bit... They allow smoking in the room and in the Bar downstairs after they have stopped the food service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

stayed here with work mates good location rooms are small basic and clean and its only 5min walk from train station and even closer to red light district perfect for lads weekend i would stay here again no problem

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspecsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale
Level Contributor
200 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have just come back from 2 nights at this place and I had a great time. This place is a pub, not a 5 star hotel but it serves it purpose very well.

I had room no. 9, which is in the block across the street from the bar and is on the top floor which, in Amsterdam means STAIRS!! Not for the faint hearted! My room was, what I would call a little scruffy in as much as the walls could have done with a wipe down and the floor with a vacuum going over it. Also, being the top floor, there was a huge wooden beam, coming down from the ceiling to about 3 feet off the floor and only about 2 feet from the bed so I had to be careful not to bang my head when I got out of bed. None of this bothers me, though.

The staff were great. The girls I dealt with were efficient, friendly and, from what I saw, made sure everyone was well looked after. The breakfast was OK, with bacon and eggs and coffee provided. You paid extra for orange juice. I also had a meal there and this was very nice.

The location is superb. 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station and right on the edge of the RLD but it always felt safe.

Overall, I had a great time and when I go back to Amsterdam I will book in here as, for the price, it is hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaleDamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#291 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#230 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#177 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#252 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#244 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Property: Hotel Old Quarter
Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing