We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #295 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, just 5-10 mins walk from central station. It's really right across the road, and in the heart of the bars, coffee shops and red light district.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are upstairs above the bar, which you have to walk through. Check in is as you enter the bar and always had a friendly service. The bar does food and what we had was spot on! Beer about €5 a pint. The room we had looked out over the canal, it was very basic,the bed and pillows crap, but clean enough and as we were only staying 1 night was adequate. The area outside has any amount of eating places and bars etc, red light district is 2mins walk and worth a look, not shady at all really! The streets the next morning aw covered with rubbish, bottles etc, ( and this was a Wednesday ) but was being cleaned up by 10am.
Would I stay here again?....Yes

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 735 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank gaston n
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great hotel, perfect location, the stairs are a bit steep but not too much of a problem.
I would deffo stay again and recommend to others as it is great value for money !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Me and my pals stayed here in June on a stag weekend 1st impressions were very good.The Hotel Old Quarter is right in the heart of the Damrak close to bars,coffee shops and the Red light district.Upon entering the hotel it looked very nice and we were greeted by a lovely girl who checked us into the Hotel and gave us our room keys.The Bar area is decorated very nice and this is where breakfast is served there was live music on here every night of our stay and seemed very popular with passing trade and hotel guests.The door to the Hotel are is secure and requires the staff to buzz you in so you have piece of mind that your room with be safe from non guests.The Hotel is a OLD building so don't expect British health and safety regs to be in force here the stairs are a death trap i cannot explain how steep they are i was on the top floor and these stairs were that steep i may as well have been climbing a ladder every time i went up and down them i had to take breath and hope i didn't fall and die, if there was a fire in this hotel you would be dead simple as that.When i finally entered our room it was the most basic room i have ever seen in my life 4 beds one broken carpet tiles all lose and missing i didn't look at the mattress or pillows i was too scared. I was on a stag weekend in Amsterdam and didn't expect the Hilton but this was grim.The first morning we went for breakfast and a member of staff greeted us to the breakfast menu. Can i have a full English please i said,I was then met with the most amazing one liner ever....No sorry the chef can only cook easy things :-/ me and my pals was dying from laughing to much it was a very funny moment but it didn't get me my full English.This Hotel is is a prime location it it perfect for the nightlife and the train station,the bar/breakfast area is beautiful and the staff are very very nice people.Its just when you go thru that secure door to the rooms its grim.Maybe then should charge a few more euros and buy new beds and a few tins of paint.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnlyF00lsAndH0rses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#235 of 372 in Amsterdam
452 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#147 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,353 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 372 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#227 of 372 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#181 of 372 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing