We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting for anyone!”

Foam - Photography Museum Amsterdam
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.51*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
More Info
$67.70*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #80 of 516 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Foam enables people all over the world to experience and enjoy photography, whether it's at our museum in Amsterdam, on the website, via Foam Magazine or in our Editions Gallery.Completed in 1716, the building where Foam is situated - Keizersgracht 609 - first operated as a warehouse. In 2002 it became Foam and has since been a hotspot for photography lovers.Foam nurtures and shows upcoming artists in combination with exhibitions of well known photographers and historical work. It has a gallery, library, bookshop and cafe.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting for anyone!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed it loads and anyone would! Amazing photography and we managed to see the David Bowie exhibition while we were there which was a great delight :) would defiantly go again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chanelzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    214
    111
    53
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It is not a museum”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Yes it is not a museum, just a photo gallery that exhibite some photo works. We went in there with museum kaart for free, otherwise it was a big dissoppointment to pay

Helpful?
Thank aIperafsin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great little gallery”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Small museum/gallery but it had three very interesting exhibitions which were all very different. Very convenient location so easy to fit in with other visits. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unique Photography Gallery”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited this gallery to see the Stephen Gill exhibit with my son and his girlfriend who are studying photography and film. I loved the renovated interior of this old canal house including the small and calm environment of their cafe. If I lived in Amsterdam, I would visit this gallery frequently.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olst, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great exhibition Brian Duffy/David Bowie”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This exhibition is not at the main building, but is housed a couple of hundred meters down the Vijzelstraat 78. (about a 3 min walk) It is a small exhibition about projects done together by Duffy and Bowie, but it's worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foam - Photography Museum Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Foam - Photography Museum Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing