We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam's secret B n B treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #115 of 335 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amsterdam's secret B n B treasure”
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We arrived late due to a delayed flight and were met by a friendly face and a warm welcome. The room itself was spacious, comfortable, clean and quaint. An old building with all the features you'd expect, fireplace, wood and uneven floors.

Just on the edge of the red-light district, the Lower Room that we stayed in afforded a great place to people-watch from and was surprisingly quiet given how close the bars were.

This amazing little place has a wonderful self service breakfast system whereby guests can use the well equipped and stocked kitchen to cook their own at any time...very nice it was too!

Only word of warning is that all rooms are upstairs, the stairs are almost comically steep but not for the faint hearted! Although personally I found them quite entertaining after a few bacardis!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lashly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
55
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We really enjoyed staying in the loft "apartment" for a week in June 09. It was excellent in that it was clean, safe, very quiet and so cenveniently located. Everything exactly as pictured, two rooms with a very nice bathroom en-suite. We rarely saw others in the kitchen/ dining area, just a few steps downstairs, so we really felt we had our own little pad. Ces was super, attentive and readily available. We enjoyed the open kitchen, and found it plentiful for breakfast goodies or a late night tea and snack. Fabulous coffee! As for the stairs, we knew what to expect, and this did not dissapoint. The first two flights are the steepest, tiniest and most worn, however it does improve higher up. This is the nature of the beautiful canal houses. For us, it was well worth it. We will look forward to returning on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wishes-from-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

The Amsterdam Central B and B was the best part of our trip to Europe - we did not want to leave.

We stayed in the loft -right at the top of the house, which has the bedroom as well as the separate lounge/bathroom area.

The wireless internet worked well, the host, Cees, was firiendly, helpful and there to assist with bags, and make a plan to keep bags for late check-out.

The fully stocked kitchen was amazing, well stocked and cleaned immaculately once we had made our own breakfast.

Thank you for making us feel like we have our own place in Amsterdam. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Innerpeace35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

When we arrived, they let us leave our bags until the room was ready (We arrived very early, around 8AM). The room was clean, and everything was just what we needed. I spent a LOT of time researching hotels/b&bs in Amsterdam before arriving to get the best deal, and this was definitely it. The rates were reasonable, and the location is right in the middle of everything, and close to all the best spots in Amsterdam. The breakfast was very nice; serve yourself with a lot of options. The staff was also very nice and helpful on giving advice about Amsterdam.

I stayed in the lower room of the b&b, and the only bad part was that it does get loud sometimes at night (being right next to the red light district). I was prepared for this though, so it wasn't a big deal. The windows block out most of the noise if they are closed. We stayed in this b&b and moved to a larger hotel farther out on Singel during the second part of our trip, and it was nice to get the best of both: the Amsterdam Central b&b is right in the center of the action, and then we switched to see the more laid back, quiet side of Amsterdam during the second half of our trip.

For those traveling alone, I would consider this a pretty safe place to stay. Even being next to the red light district, I felt secure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonja87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We spent a week at the Pearl Apartment which is part of the accommodation listed as Amsterdam Cntral Bed and Breakfast. There was plenty of room in the apartment and Martin and Jojo were great hosts. We were only a few minutes walk to Dam Square and close to all other sights. The view from the room was really good and we could watch all the people, bikes and even horse and carriages as they passed by. There was a supermarket just around the corner and because we had a small kitchen we were able to cater for ourselves a number of times. We enjoyed our stay in the Pearl Apartment and would recommend it to others visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We found the host to be pleasant, helpful and available around the clock. The room was large, clean, and surprisingly quiet considering it is on the edge of the Red Light District. However, the staircase leading to the rooms was frighteningly steep and reeked of cat urine.

The breakfast is self-service but the options were plenty and restocked daily. Access to the kitchen 24/7 for coffee or tea was nice. The TV has 30 channels, there was free wi-fi access and the bed was very comfortable.

In summary, if you are looking for somewhere central and do not plan on staying in the room most of the day, I would recommend this B&B. If you have mobility problems - this is not the place for you, as there are no alternatives other than the stairs of doom.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyFilmGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Booking this little B & B was what made our stay in Amsterdam memorable!
Cosy, Clean, Comfortable, Convenient.
Located just 5 minutes from the Central Station, just on the fringe of the red light district, making its location central, YET quiet.
The rooms are exactly as the pictures show.
We had the luck to stay in BOTH lower and upper rooms as we extended our stay upon arrival.
Our favorite part is the kitchen (shared).
Very well stocked: different kinds of bread, beverages, ham, cheese, bacon;, you can prepare your own breakfast at your own time and leisure.
We even could cook our own dinner in the kitchen!
The host (Cess) was great! Friendly, accomodating.
This place is THE place to stay in amsterdam!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#206 of 367 in Amsterdam
429 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,306 reviews
Hotel d'Amsterdam
#197 of 367 in Amsterdam
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#225 of 367 in Amsterdam
433 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#174 of 367 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast
Address: II Oudebrugsteeg 6, 1012 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast rooms and apartments in the city center at 5 minutes walking distance from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Central b&b
Amsterdam Central Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing