We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Well located luxury b and b with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Synopsis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Synopsis
Ranked #133 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well located luxury b and b with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed 1 night in the Garden Room ( accessed past the kitchen area by a short narrow steep staircase) - lots of nice touches -robes,slippers,chocs and biscs,mini bar and small kitchen area to make tea,coffee etc-plenty of coffee etc provided.
Enjoyed a complimentary glass of cava sitting on balcony area accessed from the room which overlooked the garden. this more than compensated for lack of bathtub in bathroom!(shower only) Room and bathroom spotlessly clean and well presented.
Owner Elizabeth very warm and helpful.We arrived early -just to leave bags-Elizabeth took time to provide map of area and show directions etc although was preparing rooms and it would have been inconvenient for her to spare the time.
Good idea to provide tick list of breakfast items available-each guest completes this on arrival to enable your breakfast to be just as you would like!-had breakfast in the kitchen-well presented and very good quality continental breakfast. Enjoyed the company of another couple and a chat with the owner during breakfast-felt like a welcomed guest in a home not a hotel.Pity weather not kind enough to allow breakfast in the garden which looked lovely.
This is so much better than a sterile chain hotel! -would highly recommend and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastYorkshireCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Nc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We recently stayed two nights at the Hotel Synopsis in Amsterdam before boarding the Celebrity Constellation. The Synopsis is a very comfortable, well located, small Hotel in Amsterdam, close to several attractions as well as the tram. The Hotel is on the Amsterdam Conexxtion shuttle van route from Schipol Airport which makes it very easy to get to.

Our room was spotless, the bath facilities strictly modern, and the room included a computer with free internet access. Breakfast was extensive, totally fresh, and delicious.

My one comment as others have noted is that this really should be considered a B&B as much as a hotel, and as such would have to rank right at the top of B&B's in Amsterdam. We hope to stay there again the next time we return to Holland.

Room Tip: We were in the Canal Room and would recommend that one to others as it was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We liked the Synopsis very much, although with only a few rooms it doesn't really qualify as a hotel - more of a B & B format. Our room was lovely, spacious, ground floor with walk out to patio and a tiny kitchenette. .Bathroom was modern. There is a computer in the room all set up - very nice to have. The hotel is across the canal from the Hermitage and easy to access tram lines. The host, Elisabeth, is very helpful and made us feel at home. She welcomed us with a split of champagne and some cookies. My husband was ill, had to stay in his room all day, and she called a doctor for him. Elisabeth prepares breakfast in a small kitchen with a small eating area. One chooses from a set list the night before what one wishes to have for breakfast and what time. Because we were leaving too early to make breakfast one day, she gave us cereal and milk and fruit for out room the night before.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cucidate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed one night in a large and well-decorated room. Good location as I didn't want somewhere right in the centre, but that was well within walking distance of pretty much anywhere you wanted to go in Amsterdam. Received a very warm welcome and the owner was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Enjoyed a good quality breakfast in the privacy of the room, which had lots of useful amenities like a computer with free wi-fi, a discreet kitchen area with minibar and some free items. The other items were priced very reasonable. Loved every moment of my stay at the Synopsis and hope to go back again when I next visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyful80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I could not recomend this exquisite establishment more highly enough, in fact I cannot understand how its rating is on Trip Advisor is only 28th in Amsterdam! After going back to compare with other B&B's on this site it surely belongs in the top few! I concur wholeheartedly with the praise in others comments. The quality of the furnishings, amentity, atmosphere were faultless. Elisabeth was a gracious, generous but unobtrusive host who went out of her way to make my first solo overseas holiday (seasoned couple traveller that I have been) a total pleasure. During an unseasonally hot period she even planned to organise an outdoor umbrella to supplement the shade of her beautiful apricot tree so guests could have options of where to sit at breakfast in her lovely garden courtyard without the sun becoming too intrusive. Her care, consideration and local knowledge was appeciated and much used. With reasonably substantial experience of european leisure travel accomadationI have never seen such attention to detail and thoughtfulness in the range of items available in the clever well equiped concealed kitchenette, well designed bathroom and bedroom (flat screen TV and computer, desk, table & chairs and window positioned cafe lounge chairs). Its amentity was matched by a high level of comfort - that bed was a recipe for guarranteed sleep despite hours of walking weariness and complaining legs!. Contrary to one comment a continental breakfast is certainly provided and the selection within that quite generous but additional options are available at extra cost. There are 3 rooms not 2 as mentioned in one comment - 2 at ground level and 1 on the first floor. The garden is an oasis - delightful in the morning sun at breakfast and soothing at the end of the day with a glass of wine and a good book. When I return to Amsterdam with my partner there is no way I would consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grant_lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was lovely. We had the canal room and it was spotlessly clean and very spacious. There was no skimping on facilities in the room - satellite tv, free use of the computer in the room (very handy as we were going to Paris and were able to book the Eiffel Tower from there), tea/coffee making facilities and a proper sized bathroom. The area was central enough to walk round the centre of Amsterdam yet on a quieter side street opposite the Hermitage Museum.

The owner is very helpful and makes the breakfast for you (you order the day before). Make sure you have a look at the little cards by the door with details and special offers of tourist attractions in Amsterdam - some give 50% or 25% off entry fee.

It was lovely to stay in a proper old Amsterdam house overlooking a canal. It's not cheap, probably average for this type of accomodation in this city but at the end of the day you get what you pay for (most of the time anyway!!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Synopsis, and it couldn't have been better. We chose the Garden Room, and I am so glad we did. Our room opened up to a beautiful terrace. After a day of touring, we would sit on the terrace and enjoy a glass of wine.

Our hostess, Elizabeth, is charming, and extremely knowledgeable about Amsterdam.

When we return, this is where we will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Adolesce
Hotel Adolesce
#194 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#250 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#47 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#88 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Synopsis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Synopsis

Property: Hotel Synopsis
Address: A Nieuwe Keizersgracht 22, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Synopsis 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synopsis Hotel, established in a state classified historical canal house, is located in central Amsterdam's top-location. Situated on a quiet canal, Synopsis is surrounded by museums, theatres, restaurants, shopping centers, parking lots and public transportation. Synopsis offers two comfortable studios which are fashionably decorated with modern design furniture. In addition to the already comprehensive standard amenities extra services are possible; for example a full gourmet breakfast can be served in the room. Synopsis creates an oasis of tranquility in elegantly decorated rooms with guaranteed privacy and excellent services, in the midst of the hectic city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Synopsis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing