We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Synopsis
Nearby Hotels
$337
$285
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$295
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$265
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$302
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$563
$332
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$298
$242
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$249
$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$244
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
49
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
7
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 57 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed one night in a large and well-decorated room. Good location as I didn't want somewhere right in the centre, but that was well within walking distance of pretty much anywhere you wanted to go in Amsterdam. Received a very warm welcome and the owner was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Enjoyed a good quality breakfast in the privacy of the room, which had lots of useful amenities like a computer with free wi-fi, a discreet kitchen area with minibar and some free items. The other items were priced very reasonable. Loved every moment of my stay at the Synopsis and hope to go back again when I next visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyful80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I could not recomend this exquisite establishment more highly enough, in fact I cannot understand how its rating is on Trip Advisor is only 28th in Amsterdam! After going back to compare with other B&B's on this site it surely belongs in the top few! I concur wholeheartedly with the praise in others comments. The quality of the furnishings, amentity, atmosphere were faultless. Elisabeth was a gracious, generous but unobtrusive host who went out of her way to make my first solo overseas holiday (seasoned couple traveller that I have been) a total pleasure. During an unseasonally hot period she even planned to organise an outdoor umbrella to supplement the shade of her beautiful apricot tree so guests could have options of where to sit at breakfast in her lovely garden courtyard without the sun becoming too intrusive. Her care, consideration and local knowledge was appeciated and much used. With reasonably substantial experience of european leisure travel accomadationI have never seen such attention to detail and thoughtfulness in the range of items available in the clever well equiped concealed kitchenette, well designed bathroom and bedroom (flat screen TV and computer, desk, table & chairs and window positioned cafe lounge chairs). Its amentity was matched by a high level of comfort - that bed was a recipe for guarranteed sleep despite hours of walking weariness and complaining legs!. Contrary to one comment a continental breakfast is certainly provided and the selection within that quite generous but additional options are available at extra cost. There are 3 rooms not 2 as mentioned in one comment - 2 at ground level and 1 on the first floor. The garden is an oasis - delightful in the morning sun at breakfast and soothing at the end of the day with a glass of wine and a good book. When I return to Amsterdam with my partner there is no way I would consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grant_lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was lovely. We had the canal room and it was spotlessly clean and very spacious. There was no skimping on facilities in the room - satellite tv, free use of the computer in the room (very handy as we were going to Paris and were able to book the Eiffel Tower from there), tea/coffee making facilities and a proper sized bathroom. The area was central enough to walk round the centre of Amsterdam yet on a quieter side street opposite the Hermitage Museum.

The owner is very helpful and makes the breakfast for you (you order the day before). Make sure you have a look at the little cards by the door with details and special offers of tourist attractions in Amsterdam - some give 50% or 25% off entry fee.

It was lovely to stay in a proper old Amsterdam house overlooking a canal. It's not cheap, probably average for this type of accomodation in this city but at the end of the day you get what you pay for (most of the time anyway!!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Synopsis, and it couldn't have been better. We chose the Garden Room, and I am so glad we did. Our room opened up to a beautiful terrace. After a day of touring, we would sit on the terrace and enjoy a glass of wine.

Our hostess, Elizabeth, is charming, and extremely knowledgeable about Amsterdam.

When we return, this is where we will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

a beautiful 3 room hotel in amsterdam central a very gracious host and an experience that other chain hotels could learn from well done rooms are large by european standards and oh so tastefully fitted out a real experience

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aurigabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews