We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Suite 259
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$271
$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$312
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$500
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$223
$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$174
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$260
$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$202
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$272
$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$291
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$153
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
398
16
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
16
2
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 418 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2006

The best part of our trip to Amsterdam was the accommodation. Peter and Aziz went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We arrived on Queen's Day and if you're not into boozy, loud celebrations then it's probably best to visit another time. It was our 34th wedding anniversary and I casually mentioned this to Peter when we booked and viola - a very nice cake was delivered to us at breakfast! They take extra care with the little things like free soft drink in the fridge, a free bottle of wine if you choose to dine in. We stayed in the Safari suite where the bed was comfortable and the spa a bonus. I haven't attached photos as these are on the website. Websites tend to make rooms look a little larger than they are through the use of wide angle lens but it was quite spacious, on two levels and well equipped. The stairs are steep and spiral which would not suit guests with mobility problems. High speed internet access was free. The tram is right out the front making access to the city and all the sights easy. I would encourage visitors not to stay in the hotels in the centre of the city as I imagine that they could be noisy. Aziz went out of his way to accommodate my wife's dietary requirements and breakfasts were varied, interesting and delicious. Parking in Amsterdam is a problem if you're driving, as we were. Peter solved this using the car park in the hospital next door which I think cost me something like 20 or 30 Euros for three days - very cheap by Amsterdam standards. All in all we had a very pleasant stay, not cheap but at least the tariff was all inclusive. In many places you think you've booked a bargain only to find the bill is 30-40% higher on checkout with all the hidden extras and taxes.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2006

Don't let the title of this review fool you, I'm sure this is the best B&B in Amsterdam. All the good things that have been said about Suite 259 in past reviews are pretty much correct, so no need to repeat them here, I will only add our own experiences of staying in the Safari suite for 3 nights.

We were allowed to check into our room early, which is a good indication of good service. We were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of red wine (excellent full bodied South African red, but would have preferred chilled white in the hot weather) and free soft drinks, robes and slippers in the room. The Safari suite is spacious, comfy, and full of amenities including high speed internet access. Peter also helped us with all the tourist logistics, getting cabs, and good restaurant recommendations, but not getting our bags up the steep stairs. Suite 259 is well connected, which means it can also be a bit noisy in the Safari room because your large (but double glazed) windows face the street.

Peter is a good host but sometimes a bit over-familiar, which made us feel a bit uncomfortable at times. We aren't snobs, but we were a bit suprised that he sat down with us during our whole breakfast. NOTE, you have to go downstairs and next door to have breakfast at 9:30, although they served us at 9 one morning due to our schedule. Aziz put his heart and soul into our breakfasts so we feel bad saying we didn't enjoy them. The combination of mini Mars bars and seared tuna one day, and spicy stir fried chicken with tamarind and more candy on the next day didn't go down too well with the morning coffee and OJ, so we opted for a healthy lunch in the lovely pubs on the canals. We were hoping for a more simple, wholesome, nutritious and balanced breakfast. Where's the famous Dutch pastries guys? Also, Amsterdam suffers from a coffee making epidemic, unless you like the taste of Folgers or Kenkos. However, we told Aziz about wanting a simpler breakfast and he agreed, although we could tell he was a bit hurt and that made us feel bad.

I have to say Peter was great because BA lost one of our bags and he stayed up until 1:30am to see if they would deliver it. They did bring our bag at 11pm, but we didn't call Peter for fear of waking him up. We were a bit shocked that he complained about not getting any sleep that night, especially because we were woken up at 6:40am by music coming from upstairs. The music was audible until at least midnight.

Overall, this is a great place where eccentricities must be accepted and appreciated. There is no perfect place away from home, but Suite 259 is just about as good as you can get, if you can afford it because it is expensive for Amsterdam. NOTE #2: CASH ONLY!! Peter gave us an envelope with 'info' the day before we left, but would have appreciated more than the small print because I didn't enjoy running to the ATM when my cab to the airport was waiting!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2006

Just back from a long weekend in Amsterdam staying in the Safari Suite
at Suite 259 and feel compelled to write just how wonderful this stay
was.

It has everything from a practical perspective - lots of space, a jacuzzi bath,
complimentary mini-bar, fabulous breakfasts and proximity to the city centre
at a reasonable price (which can be hard to find in Amsterdam).

However it's the personal interest that Peter and Aziz (we didn't have the
pleasure of meeting Eric on this trip) take in their guests that sets
this place apart - so thoughtful, considerate and just very nice people.

Very very highly recommended indeed!

Look forward to going back there very soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrelandJohnMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed @ Suite 259 10-19 May and had a great time! This was the second time we stayed here and can't imagine staying anywhere else, should we make it back to A'dam again!

It's nicely located, walking distance to Leidseplein and relatively close to the museum quarter. Plus, the tram stops right outside the front door if you choose to explore other parts of the city.

Peter & Aziz are wonderful hosts and helped us plan our daily travel around the area (train routes and trams, times, etc). The breakfasts were delicious and the room was very clean. We were served so much food at breakfast that we rarely had to eat anything more than a snack the rest of the day until dinner.

Our first trip we stayed in the Safari and this trip the Grand Sahara...you can't go wrong with either room! One word of caution though, if you have a hard time walking steps, you may have a bit of a time in the Sahara w/the winding staircase (or if you drink too much beer). :-) Grand Saraha is at the back of the building with a wonderful garden/terrace to sit and enjoy tea/coffee or the beautiful weather!

Suite 259 aside, if you plan to visit Keukenhoff Gardens with more than 2 people, consider having Peter & Aziz arrange a taxi for you. If you take public trans, you have to take a train to Lisse and then a bus to the gardens. The bus alone is 17 euros per person so by the time you pay for train and bus for 2 people, you've paid close to taxi fair and the ride will be much nicer and quicker! Whichever mode of transportation, it's definitely worth the trip!

Another word of advice...get a taxi to take you to/from the airport/hotel. It is NOT fun to haul suitcases on/off the trains and trams after a very long flight; especially if it's "rush hour" and people are trying to crowd their way on. It cost us about 35 Euro and was worth every penny!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REBECCA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2006

So many people had written such glowing reviews of Suite 259 that I booked it in the confident knowledge that it would be very good. Just how good, though, we still had to find out. Well, yes, rest assured - it is THAT good!

The Safari Suite in which we stayed is spacious, fantastically well equipped, totally private, charmingly (and slightly eccentrically) decorated and wonderfully well located for visiting the sights of Amsterdam. The bed is enormous! Moreover, although Overtoom is a major street, the double-glazing successfully keeps the room remarkably quiet. (The larger Grand Sahara Suite to the back of the house will be quieter still). It would spoil the fun to describe the many complementary touches - just know that everything is done with care, consideration and thoughtfulness.

Peter and Aziz are delightful, entertaining hosts, both with a lovely sense of humour, with good knowledge of Amsterdam and all sorts of useful tips about public transport, local restaurants and so on. (Oh, and mentioning restaurants, Aziz is a great cook, so breakfast, served at a very civilised 9.30am, is a meal in itself! We happen to be very light eaters in the morning, so I fear we were a real disappointment to him - sorry Aziz! - but he very kindly served the smaller meal we wanted).

It is perhaps worth mentioning that, as in most old Amsterdam houses, the stairs are steep and have narrow treads. Happily, both suites are entered on the first floor, so it's not far to climb but if you have a serious problem with stairs you might need to think about this.

In a passionate quest for endless improvement, Aziz and Peter both asked us several times if we could think of anything that would have made our stay better. Well, there's no way of changing traditional Dutch architecture so, steep stairs apart, we honestly couldn't think of a thing. That's why it's true to say that there is nothing - and we mean exactly that: 'nothing' - wrong with Suite 259. On any future visits to Amsterdam, there will only be one place where we shall ever want to stay!

2  Thank naturalCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews