We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Return Trip To A Fabulous Suite”
Review of Suite 259

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suite 259
Ranked #104 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Return Trip To A Fabulous Suite”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family of four returned for a three night stay at Suite 259, one year after our first visit. We stayed in the Grand Sahara Suite. As was true with our first visit, everything was completely to our liking. Peter and Aziz welcomed us warmly and took care to make sure we were well cared for. The suite is lovely. It is spaceous, very clean, and comfortable. Aziz provided a delicious breakfast each day including our favorite poffertjes (and even provided a "ready to go" breakfast on the morning we left early for the airport). We enjoyed a special dinner on our last evening from "Rice Is Nice" the take out dinner service of Aziz. It was delicious and a wonderful way to end our vacation. Peter took care to make sure our sightseeing was planned to perfection. His tips for transportaion and timing were welcomed. Peter also printed out boarding passes and called a cab making our departure easy. Suite 259 is located in a lovely part of Amsterdam...a bit away from the busy tourist areas but easily accessable. We enjoyed both stays at Suite 259. We would recommend it to anyone visiting Amsterdam... and would happily return ourselves!

Room Tip: The Grand Sahara was perfect for our family of 4. It was spacious offering two full bathrooms and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    16
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
84
115
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Peter was actually on the street to meet us when the cab dropped us off. From there he and Aziz showed us such warm hospitality. Peter called us a cab several days later for our departure and got up with us at a ridiculously early hour to help us carry our luggage. Breakfast with Aziz was terrific - his internationally known pancakes were a big hit with the kids. The B & B also offers a Malaysian-type dinner that Aziz prepares and we had that on our last night - very delicious and reasonably priced. We rented both the suites available for 5 of us. Nice touches like cold beverages in the fridge in each room and fruit and a welcome bottle of wine. The rooms were perfect for us. The air conditioning was great at night. Nice bathroom facilities. All in all, all the luxuries of a really nice hotel but more space, more individual attention at cheaper price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernhil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This looks exactly as in the photos. I was very impressed with the welcome and the room. We were in the Safari suite next to Grand Sahara. There was plenty of space, great furniture, comfortable bed. The breakfast is amazing: fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice, pancakes and a different homemade Indonesian dish every day. Beautiful flowers: orchids and lilies in the jacuzzi-bathroom and breakfast area. Start your day with a short walk through Vondel Park to the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coco790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying 4 nights in the Safari Suite at this lovely B & B in late June. Peter and Aziz gave us a warm welcome when we arrived in the morning from another hotel. Peter gave us a tour of our room, explained everything, and pointed out some nice touches – drinks in the fridge, robes and slippers, etc. We left our bags, and went out for the day. When we returned later that evening, our bags had been brought up the very steep, narrow staircase to our room (thankfully!) and we right away felt at home.

Peter and Aziz are both very charming hosts, each in their own different way, and they keep the B&B very clean and provide lots of personal touches. The suite had the amenities we needed (e.g. a fridge, free WiFi, a safe), and was full of interesting and exotic decorative pieces and furniture from around the world. One note of caution is that the Safari Suite is in the front of the building, and being that the B&B is on a very busy street, it was quite noisy. The windows are excellent and do a great job of keeping out most of the noise, but it was impossible to sleep with the windows open.

After sleeping well each night on a very comfortable bed, we were treated to some marvelous breakfasts, courtesy of Aziz. The fresh sliced fruit was always delicious, the tiny pancakes were fabulous, and the special dishes Aziz prepared each morning made the breakfasts an adventure. The breakfast room, (which is actually Aziz’s shop) is also full of fascinating objects and a pair of doves cooed all through the meal. What a soothing sound they made!!

Suite 259 may look far from the town center on a map, but Amsterdam is so easily walkable, nothing is really far. It is a short walk to Leidseplein and the main museums. The #1 tram stops just outside the front door and will take you to/from the city centre in about 10 minutes.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely hope to go back on any return trip to Amsterdam!

A big thank you to Peter & Aziz!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candypine58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We are a family of 4, my husband, 2 teenage sons and myself. Peter was extremely helpful in suggesting things for us to see and do in Amsterdam. My husband was able to swim and workout in a nearby health club and my sons and I went to tour the Ajax stadium, which was a great suggestion from Peter. We also enjoyed Vondelpark, less than a block a way, for a nice run and just to unwind. The location is perfect, far enough away from the touristy areas, but close enough to walk or catch a tram to Museums or other sites.

But the best part of Suite 259 is Peter and Aziz! Peter is helpful with Amsterdam things to do, also with music and life. Aziz is the most amazing cook. Breakfast was amazing. Coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, bowl of fresh fruit, "dutch" pancakes, and eggs with shrimps. Not the same every morning, but Aziz would always ask what we would like for the next morning. We also tried the dinner. Dinner was delicious! He made lamb for the boys and fish for the grown ups. His rice is tasty and flavorful. We had dinner 2 of our 4 nights with Aziz and Peter. A definite must if you stay at Suite 259!!


Peter and Aziz made us feel like we were at home and we will definitely be staying at Suite 259 on our next trip back to Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Peter and Aziz are the most wonderful hosts you could wish for. My wife and I stayed at Suite 259 for about 5 days during our honeymoon, and we felt pampered. Aside from being extremely friendly and funny, Peter and Aziz went out of their way to take care of our needs. The home-made breakfast every morning was a treat. We told them we were leaving the place early one morning to go on a day trip, so they made us a breakfast to go. When planning a celebration in the nearby Vondelpark, they helped us out by providing champagne buckets and other items we'd otherwise have to buy. It's hard to overstate how friendly and helpful they were.

The suite itself is excellent. We stayed in the Grand Sahara suite. Roomy yet cozy. Two floors, two bathrooms, one with a great Jacuzzi, and an outside balcony with a lovely view (see http://i.imgur.com/o4N3q.jpg). The bed was very comfortable. A friend was able to comfortably stay with us for a few days, sleeping on the roomy fold-out couch downstairs. Plenty of room.

The location within Amsterdam is hard to beat. You're literally right next to the Vondelpark — Amsterdam's version of Central Park. Lots of good eateries, shops and bars nearby, as well as easy access to public transportation.

I would recommend Suite 259 to anyone interested in visiting Amsterdam, without hesitation. The suite and the location itself are great just by itself, but having Peter and Aziz as hosts make this place a rare treat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captainkeytar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying 5 nights at Suites 259 at the beginning of May; both suites are gorgeous and very cozy! We felt like home. Thank you Peter and Aziz for such a wonderful time!!!! Everything exceeded our expectations… from the flowers, the bottle of wine, the basket fruit, and the photo of us on the table….and THE BEST BREAKFAST ever!!!!!! We LOVED the little Dutch pancakes!!!! We were very spoilt! Aziz was kind enough to give us the Poffertjes mixed and all the instructions in English! Thank so so much!!!We just came back from holidays and had them for breakfast, beautiful!!!! You made our stay very enjoyable!

We really had a very comfortable time. I’d to work for a few days and Peter was very helpful with any indication we needed such public transport, restaurants, places to go, etc! The B&B it couldn’t be located in a better spot, close to the beautiful park Vondelpark, the Van Gogh museum is within 15 minutes walk. Tram # 1 stop is outside the door - this tram takes you straight into the centre of town, it only takes 15-20 minutes. There is also a cool local restaurant ‘Caf the Toog’ close to, we went twice for dinner, nice food and music, recommended by Peter.

The best part about Suite 259 is the hosts, delightful people and great company! Thank you for the little magnet souvenir :)

I highly recommend Suite 259, BEST B&B in Europe!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cayita2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#87 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,238 reviews
Vondelpark
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
#63 of 368 in Amsterdam
102 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#39 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,328 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#194 of 368 in Amsterdam
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite 259? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite 259

Property: Suite 259
Address: Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing