We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Ranked #79 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hostel is good, always clean and the staff is really available. Breaksfeat is good with two choices each day. The location is good and fairly close to the center. You also can rent a bike there, and It's recommended. It's a cristian hostel, but no one is obliged to participate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 255 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We wanted a quiet place so we were happy with Shelter Jordan. It's close to the tram and you can also rent bikes to get around. The staff was friendly. The kitchen had more food options than any hostel I've ever stayed at and at reasonable prices. Wifi was good. Beds were comfortable. If you're looking for a party hostel, don't come here. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank happy_nomad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been here for one night and I think it was one of my horrible experience i have ever had during my vacation life. there was not any peace moment and you should have put you pillow into your ears holes due to noisy room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmadreza_arfaei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you go to amsterdam and want a little more than alcohol and drugs, this hostel is a good option. is a christian hostel, but that values ​​the organization, calm nonjudgmental. But you must be willing to follow the rules. And they still separate rooms womens quarters of men.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AminaBawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I began the search of finding a hostel in Amsterdam which allows you to stay only one night, this one was the best one I cane across in my price range and I am very glad I did. From check-in to check-out, the experience was great. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and helpful in finding everything you need,from directions to travel advice. The hostel also makes provision for the needs of their guests, and we were able to buy locks, postcards, museum tickets and (best of all) a really cute umbrella which was handy due to the horrible weather. The rooms are very small, but the beds were comfortable and everything was very clean and well maintained. The hostel, while being quiet, had a lively atmosphere in the cafe and you can have a great meal at a very reasonable price. We also got free coffee and breakfast which was great and very tasteful. It is close to all the major attractions and in the lovely neighbourhood of Jordan so you can walk or bike while you enjoy the beautiful city. There is also no lockout. You can also leave your luggage after checkout in a luggage room whilst you explore the city.

The price was a little steep for a 4 person room, but our stay was so wonderful it was worth it. I wont hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marike88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Shelter Jordan. The rooms were typical hostel, somewhat cramped and such. But we really enjoyed the atmosphere overall at the hostel – quiet and peaceful. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the Dutch food tasting in the evening (free of charge). The included breakfast is a nice touch, although not having access to kitchen facilities was a bit of negative. That being said, they did have a microwave and fridge.
I see a few negative reviews here, even referring to this place as “weird”, largely due to the no drugs and alcohol policy. It probably isn’t for everyone, although you certainly don’t have to be a Christian to stay there. So if you think that actually being able to sleep at a decent hour in a quiet atmosphere and a comfortable place is odd, please stay away! But on the other hand if this thought kind of turns your crank, by all means please stay there.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Tofino_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Okay, so I didn't really look up much on this hostel before booking it. Cause we booked a little late, and didn't have too many options. While I understand that it's Christian hostel, but the no alcohol-drug policy doesn't gel well with, well, Amsterdam.
On the downside, rooms were really small and cramped, the drug-alcohol restrictions and the limited facilities at the hostel and the price didn't feel money's worth. No lift, so if you have luggage, you may struggle a little.
On the upside however, some of the staff was helpful. A huge relief was the included breakfast and subsidized meals. And location. Not too far from everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ron_sh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dutchies Hostel
#32 of 242 in Amsterdam
98 reviews
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#170 of 242 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#12 of 242 in Amsterdam
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ClinkNOORD
#8 of 242 in Amsterdam
1,054 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ecomama Hotel
Ecomama Hotel
#17 of 242 in Amsterdam
274 reviews
Hostelle
#35 of 242 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel

Address: Bloemstraat 179, 1016 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $18 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelter Jordan - Popular for its warm and welcoming atmosphere - An amazing location for a great price! Shelter Jordan is in the heart of Amsterdam, close to Anne Frank House, Dam Square, Royal palace and the Museum District. A direct bus to Schiphol Airport is just around the corner. The Jordan area is full of charming streets, picturesque canals and fascinating hidden courtyards. Experience real Amsterdam in the lively street markets, "brown" cafés and the tulip and cheese museums. This area is famous for hip and trendy boutiques as well as endless restaurants and cafés. With less than 100 beds the hostel is smaller than many in Amsterdam, creating an atmosphere where it's easy to feel at home and make friends The courtyard garden is a great place to hang out when the sun's shining and you can buy drinks, snacks and meals in the café. We cook a home-made dinner each evening for our staff and you are very welcome to join us. You'll also find games to play, books to read, tables where you can write your journal, a chill-out area with comfy sofas where you can relax and chat to other guests and free WiFi access to keep in touch with home. FREE: Breakfast, WiFi, Lockers, Maps, Sheets and Showers. No hidden extras - all taxes are included in the low prices. Female only floor. Choice of rooms with 4-18 beds and shared bathrooms. The large dormitories have dividing walls between the beds. Free lockers are available - bring your own padlock or buy one at reception. 24 hour reception with tourist information and discount tickets for canal cruises, bike hire and museums. Good security, free luggage storage, no curfew, no drugs and no alcohol. Run by Christian volunteers from all around the world. This not-for-profit hostel will give you a good night's sleep in a clean and friendly atmosphere. A favourite Amsterdam hostel since 1971 with many guests coming back year after year. Come with your friends or make new ones. Experience Christian hospitality during your Amsterdam adventure! Come and discover why Let's Go guide book described Shelter Jordan as "one of the very best". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Jordan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing