We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointed choice!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Ranked #84 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed choice!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been here for one night and I think it was one of my horrible experience i have ever had during my vacation life. there was not any peace moment and you should have put you pillow into your ears holes due to noisy room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmadreza_arfaei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    93
    51
    24
    14
See reviews for
10
8
74
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
131 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you go to amsterdam and want a little more than alcohol and drugs, this hostel is a good option. is a christian hostel, but that values ​​the organization, calm nonjudgmental. But you must be willing to follow the rules. And they still separate rooms womens quarters of men.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AminaBawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I began the search of finding a hostel in Amsterdam which allows you to stay only one night, this one was the best one I cane across in my price range and I am very glad I did. From check-in to check-out, the experience was great. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and helpful in finding everything you need,from directions to travel advice. The hostel also makes provision for the needs of their guests, and we were able to buy locks, postcards, museum tickets and (best of all) a really cute umbrella which was handy due to the horrible weather. The rooms are very small, but the beds were comfortable and everything was very clean and well maintained. The hostel, while being quiet, had a lively atmosphere in the cafe and you can have a great meal at a very reasonable price. We also got free coffee and breakfast which was great and very tasteful. It is close to all the major attractions and in the lovely neighbourhood of Jordan so you can walk or bike while you enjoy the beautiful city. There is also no lockout. You can also leave your luggage after checkout in a luggage room whilst you explore the city.

The price was a little steep for a 4 person room, but our stay was so wonderful it was worth it. I wont hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marike88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Shelter Jordan. The rooms were typical hostel, somewhat cramped and such. But we really enjoyed the atmosphere overall at the hostel – quiet and peaceful. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the Dutch food tasting in the evening (free of charge). The included breakfast is a nice touch, although not having access to kitchen facilities was a bit of negative. That being said, they did have a microwave and fridge.
I see a few negative reviews here, even referring to this place as “weird”, largely due to the no drugs and alcohol policy. It probably isn’t for everyone, although you certainly don’t have to be a Christian to stay there. So if you think that actually being able to sleep at a decent hour in a quiet atmosphere and a comfortable place is odd, please stay away! But on the other hand if this thought kind of turns your crank, by all means please stay there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tofino_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Okay, so I didn't really look up much on this hostel before booking it. Cause we booked a little late, and didn't have too many options. While I understand that it's Christian hostel, but the no alcohol-drug policy doesn't gel well with, well, Amsterdam.
On the downside, rooms were really small and cramped, the drug-alcohol restrictions and the limited facilities at the hostel and the price didn't feel money's worth. No lift, so if you have luggage, you may struggle a little.
On the upside however, some of the staff was helpful. A huge relief was the included breakfast and subsidized meals. And location. Not too far from everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ron_sh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Le Havre, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I went with some friends to Amsterdam for a weekend... the place is clean and the staff is really nice and gentile, always trying to help you and give you advises about the principal tourist attractions in the city. The breakfast is included and is very good. I stayed in the 18 female dorm, which was big and comfortable, special if you like to travel and you just look for a bed to sleep close to the down town. Sheets are provided, the bathrooms are very clean,and there's always somebody in the reception 24/7, city maps, information and souvenirs are also available. The district is very nice and traditional... just a couple of block away from Ana Frank's house and around 15 min. walk from the central station, the red light district is also close, the best coffee shops and the museum area. And a piece of advice, forget about the public transport and rent a bike!! Is wonderful and cheaper; there are a couple of places where you can rent it close to the hostel!!

Room Tip: It depends on your budget and if you care or not about sleeping with strangers... I stayed in the 18...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ximenilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Shelter Jordan was lively and had a friendly atmosphere.

Check-in was smooth, and luggage was kept secured in the Luggage room with tags, all the luggage was checked again with the help of luggage tags, so the Hostel was secured to the best levels IMHO.

We were 18 bed Male Dorm, Lockers were large enough for a backpack, it took some effort to make it fit in, unfortunately there were no charger in the room. When asked Why? I was informed this was to avoid theft and mobiles could be charges at Down stairs, a better option could have been to provide chargers inside the Lockers.

Except chargers, everything was really good, clean sheets, big pillow and a comfy mattress.
Males and Females dorms were on separate floor, so you can see some people using that as an advantage and chilling in the natural manner.

Location was close to the Tram Station and it was easy to reach anyplace required.
Staff was very friendly, breakfast was delicious and filling, would really recommend this hostel to someone who's not looking to drink and party inside the Hostel.

If all you are looking for is a good place to sleep and cool people to hangout and meet, Shelter Jordan might just be that at an affordable price in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvcoolster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#169 of 221 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#37 of 221 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Train Lodge
#65 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Amsterdam
#6 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel
#178 of 221 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
#47 of 221 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel

Property: Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Address: Bloemstraat 179, 1016 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelter Jordan - Popular for its warm and welcoming atmosphere - An amazing location for a great price! Shelter Jordan is in the heart of Amsterdam, close to Anne Frank House, Dam Square, Royal palace and the Museum District. A direct bus to Schiphol Airport is just around the corner. The Jordan area is full of charming streets, picturesque canals and fascinating hidden courtyards. Experience real Amsterdam in the lively street markets, "brown" cafés and the tulip and cheese museums. This area is famous for hip and trendy boutiques as well as endless restaurants and cafés. With less than 100 beds the hostel is smaller than many in Amsterdam, creating an atmosphere where it's easy to feel at home and make friends The courtyard garden is a great place to hang out when the sun's shining and you can buy drinks, snacks and meals in the café. We cook a home-made dinner each evening for our staff and you are very welcome to join us. You'll also find games to play, books to read, tables where you can write your journal, a chill-out area with comfy sofas where you can relax and chat to other guests and free WiFi access to keep in touch with home. FREE: Breakfast, WiFi, Lockers, Maps, Sheets and Showers. No hidden extras - all taxes are included in the low prices. Female only floor. Choice of rooms with 4-18 beds and shared bathrooms. The large dormitories have dividing walls between the beds. Free lockers are available - bring your own padlock or buy one at reception. 24 hour reception with tourist information and discount tickets for canal cruises, bike hire and museums. Good security, free luggage storage, no curfew, no drugs and no alcohol. Run by Christian volunteers from all around the world. This not-for-profit hostel will give you a good night's sleep in a clean and friendly atmosphere. A favourite Amsterdam hostel since 1971 with many guests coming back year after year. Come with your friends or make new ones. Experience Christian hospitality during your Amsterdam adventure! Come and discover why Let's Go guide book described Shelter Jordan as "one of the very best". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Jordan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing