We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ranked #132 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Budget hotel with compact rooms. We were there a day before Queen's day celebration. And this hotel was almost full. I would not recommend this hotel for family as there is hardly any place to keep our lugagge.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gangadhar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2010

Me and colleague of mine visited Amsterdam in the beginning of October to participate Maemo Summit 2009. The hotel room was pretty clean and has all necessary stuff.
The buffet meal includes standard sets of vegetables, yoghurts, sausage, beckon, cheese and so on. The staying was quite nice. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. However the location is not so good for tourists who would like to visit Amsterdam downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This hotel is easy to be reached when you came to Amsterdam by car since it is located near the ring. The hotel looks new, all equipment were in excellent conditions, very clean and confortable rooms. Good shower and beds. The negative issue is the breakfast, very expensive with the same quality of other Ibis I stayed during my trip. Maybe because there is nothing near to have a breakfast. Better to stay the bus in front of the hotel and go to the downtown (15 min) to have a breakfast there. Very nice waiters in the restaurant. Don´t forget to put coins in the park meter as soon you park in front of the hotel, in 2 minutes I got a penalty.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pr_filomeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We arrived by car in February 2010, and we greeted by a really friendly and helpful staff. The parking was safe and secure, if a little costly, but it was worth it. There is very easy access to the city via a frequent bus service throughout the day and evening, with stops situated close to the hotel.
Breakfast was really good value, and always nicely presented., The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhydychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

After a 27 hr flight in total, the Hotel was welcoming and the room clean and comfortable. Great bus service Bus #48 8 mins to city centre. Tickets from reception. Breakfast was great evryday and the staff really friendly. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoblets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We booked to stay in the hotel for 1 night as part of a 3 night P&O mini-cruise. The hotel is about 10 minutes by bus (48) from the Central Station. Buses run every 12-15 minutes during the day and evening. On a night, there is an hourly bus (348) during the week and a half hourly on a Saturday night. The bus stop (both sides) is just past the hotel.

The room is bigger than what it looks on most of the photos. The bathroom is of a funky design and looks like a pod. The shower is more than big enough for 2 ;-) The room was very clean and modern.

We were on the 9th floor and did not have a disturbed sleep at all.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

My only criticism of the hotel is that the price of the breakfasts is a rip-off at 15 euros per person. Burger King next door opens at 10am and has a limited but much better value breakfast menu.

The main menu had a good choice and was of reasonable price for a hotel.

Wifi is 6 euros per hour at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank studly1_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Was a bit apprehensive about staying outside the city centre but this hotel cut it perfectly well with us, especially travelling with a young child. It is 10 minutes by bus from Centraal Station and the bus-stop is just outside the hotel. To get to the aiport, you can go to Sloterdijk station and take the high-speed inter-city express to Schipol .

The hotel is neat; the rooms are small but well maintained and functional the usual Ibis way. The staff are all extremely freindly. We didnt take the hotel breakfast option as it seemed expensive at 12 euros . We either ate from the Burger King in the same building (beware it closes at 8/9 pm) or from the city centre. The hotel room tariffs are quite reasonable if booked online, which is in contrast to most amsterdam hotels.

As said earlier, it suited us as a family looking for a quiet relaxing holiday but if you are looking to have big bites of the famed Amsterdam night-life, you'd probably be better off staying closer to the centre

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indigo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#108 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,824 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#83 of 372 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,174 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#181 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $92 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing