We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good low cost option relatively close to city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ranked #111 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good low cost option relatively close to city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel and found it a good low cost option for staying in Amsterdam. The hotel is only a 10 minute bus ride away from the city center and it sells bus passes so it is easy to get around the city. The room was tight for three people but we made do. Ibis West was clean and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was good but I thought pricey but you don't really have any option unless you want to take the bus and look for food on the way to or once you arrive in the city center. Overall a very good experience if you are traveling on a budget. The wifi was excellent.

Room Tip: For three people I thought the room was small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KidstoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    705
    241
    38
    15
See reviews for
214
567
70
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I've recently just got back after staying in this hotel for 3 nights, firstly they gave us out first room which the shower drainage did not work so had to swap rooms within 10 minutes of arrival, very happy with the lady who done that for us as she was very polite about it. After getting settled into the new room it seemed clean but in closer inspection there was dust everywhere, I've stayed in many ibis hotels and have not once seen an ounce of dust anywhere. Was nice receiving fresh towels every morning but would of expected clean bed sheets. The day staff was really kind and helpful but the evening staff was a different kettle of fish. On check out I received a warm review from the member of staff, i mentioned that I got bitten quite bad from the room and it was brushed off like it happens all the time. This was my 2nd ibis hotel stayed in whilst in Amsterdam but I'm 50/50 whether I would stay in this hotel again, although some of the staff here was lovely and helpful others seemed like they didn't want to be there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexi-oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We recently stayed here as we were attending a festival with the shuttle bus leaving from Sloterdijk station. The location was perfect for this - you could walk to the station or it was a short bus ride away. It was also easy to travel to Amsterdam central. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and the journey took about 20 minutes.
The room was clean, a good size with a great power shower. The staff were friendly and helpful and took the time to ask us about our stay at check out. The only disappointment was that the breakfast seemed overpriced so we ate next door in the huge Burger King. I would recommend this hotel. It was cheaper than staying in central Amsterdam and actually quite nice to stay in a quieter area for a change. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfrancis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in May 2014. The one thing we noticed was that there was no bath mat, this was after my mother slipped out of the shower. There was only two towels in the bathroom, not hand towels, not face washers and no mat. When I rang reception, they advised me that if they didn't have any mats they would bring an extra towel, a bit late after the fact but when they arrived the girl had about a dozen mats....why were there no mats in the rooms. This must we a safety issue and mats should be in all rooms. I was lucky my mother didn't hurt herself very bad but it made the rest of our trip a bit hard at times..... Not good service

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Donna,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for informing us about the fact that there was no bathmat in the room. We do apologize for the problem that was caused to your mother. In each room there must be a bathmat and two big towels. I discussed the missing bathmat with our housekeeping manager and she has introduced measures to ensure this does not happen again.

For any future stays I would like to inform you about our 15-minute guarantee, if anything is wrong in your room (for example a missing bathmat), than you can call reception and we solve the problem within 15 minutes, if we don't solve your problem within 15 minutes, you stay is for free.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed at the Ibis in March 2014 - with my partner.
We were helped upstairs with our bags after checking in.
The room was clean, neat and cozy.. adjustable heating was also available..
The staff were welcoming, and very informative.
The hotel is a bit cheaper as it is not in the City Centre, no complaints there.. The bus stop is located across the road a short walk from the hotel.
Buses are regular so transport to and from the Hotel was not an issue.
The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was also nice.
We had cocktails at their bar after a day out in the city, it was fantastic to come back and relax after walking around all day seeing the sights.
The staff helped us arrange our transfer to the airport after our 3 night stay..
When leaving we were asked if our stay was an enjoyable one, or if we had any suggestions/complaints.

I am looking at Ibis hotels for our next trip to other parts of Europe, as this was a good experience...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blairg1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team and who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is good, clean, well maintained, although small. Next to burger king, make you easily find food whenever you're hungry. The location is about 15-20 minutes away by bus from central station and amsterdam tourist area, but bus stop is only about 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ignatius Untung S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel and the provided review.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,097 reviews
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#130 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#109 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Property: Ibis Amsterdam City West
Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing