We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Typical high quality Ibis experience - good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ranked #111 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
manchester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Typical high quality Ibis experience - good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Typical modern, clean, light and bright Ibis hotel with funky and spotless public areas and lovely fresh rooms with good TV and excellent wi-fi. Friendly, helpful staff too. Yes this is in a seemingly out of the way location but actually is 10 to 15 minutes from Amsterdam Centraal Station on a reliable bus service with the stops outside the hotel. PLUS this is on a night bus route too - so every half an hour to get back from the city centre. It is also very near a Metro station (not a quick direct link to CC but very useful for connections to trains and trams at various stops including Sloterdijk Station). A brief walk from the hotel you will also find Sloterdijk Station for links to NS trains (day trip to Haarlem; getting to the airport), trams, Metro and buses. Get a GVB card and you'll enjoy a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ybyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your 5 out of 5 revieuw about your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    705
    241
    38
    15
See reviews for
214
567
70
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We got a great deal for this chain hotel and to be honest weren't expecting much more than a clean room. What we found was a lovely modern hotel with extremely helpful and friendly staff, a fantastic continental breakfast with scrambled eggs and either bacon or sausage, a pleasant bar area and a quiet location away from the stags and hens of the city centre. With a bus stop just outside perfect for the centre and Sloterdijk station, and a Burger King downstairs for late night snacks, we couldn't have picked better!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stuzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Stuzer,

Thank you very much for your very positive review about our newly renovated hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I booked the hotel via Otel.com whom I will never use again as they never replied to e mails, provided no customer service, and failed to honour a voucher. The final straw was a problem with the booking, but that was sorted out by the helpful and enthusiastic Ibis staff. The hotel is clean and comfortable, with pleasant rooms, and provides a good breakfast. Staff were helpful and helped with knowledge of transport and connections into the city. The only drawback is the fact that there is a lack of shops, and cafe's near to the hotel, other than a Burger King. However regular buses into Amsterdam and only 3 minutes from the metro , enable the visitor to move around easily.

Room Tip: Rear rooms away from road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon. You can always book via our friendly staff or online.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My woman and i stay in this Ibis Hotel for 3 nights and enjoy it very much. I absolut recommend this hotel to everyone who need to spend some days in Amsterdam. Okay, it´s not really central, but 10 minutes one way by Bus direct to the city center, who cares :o)
a daily public transportation ticket you can buy at the reception for € 4,50.
The breakfast, one word amazing and i love the coffee.

everytime, i need to go to Amsterdam, i will book this hotel. I never sleep better in a Hotel Bed before and i sleep in a lot of Hotels over the last years.

we spend, with booking 1,5 weeks before we flight and spend € 200 for 3 nights incl breakfest

Room Tip: double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turtle201277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel and very positive review on Tripadvisor.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with several mates march 2013 for two nights. A short inexpensive taxi journey to the city centre was no inconvenience as staff were very helpful in organising transport. Bedrooms very clean, fresh and well insulated from surrounding noise. At €4:90 for a pint of Heineken from the hotel bar this for me was the only distressing part of my short stay in this breath taking city.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DSINGER111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My partner and myself stayed here from Monday to Wednesday as a city break, we had choose this hotel in particular as we didn't want to be to close to dam square and this seemed quite close to get to the centre.
When we landed at the airport we headed to bus stop b15 and caught the number 69 bus, stay on this bus till the end then get on the 48 bus which is next to the one you get of. after two stops your at the hotel. when you are heading to the centre you need to get back on the bus you came on (48) and head for central station.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, we bought our travel bus pass 72hr travel across bus and tram for 17 euro, really though we should have bought this on the first bus we got on!
The rooms are basic but what you need, there is a lack of a plug near a mirror but for a couple of nights you can make do.
There is no heating in the rooms aswel just a air con unit, but is you ask at reception they will bring a heater for you.
The bed was really comfy and the pillows to.
We paid £90 for two for two nights and it served us well a clean place to get your head down the bathroom was nice a big shower and nice and powerful.
We did not have breakfast so can not comment on food.
I would recommend this hotel if you are just going to use it as some were to sleep.
Amsterdam itself is wonderful its such a pretty city, really can not wait to go back, the people are so friendly and helpful and most people speak English so no language barriers.
I think any one visiting for the first time would be surprised at how beautiful Amsterdam is and how much there is to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank l g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I toured Amsterdam for the first time and chose this hotel. It was a little out of town but at least the neighborhood is very peaceful. It was so easy to get there by a cab or bus, depending if you have big luggage then I suggest you take the cab. Going out to town was easier too..cross the street and wait for bus no.48 and going back, you wait for the same bus no.48. The hotel room was big and spacious in compared to my room in Ibis France but both were so clean with fresh linens and towels..buffet breakfast served more options than France. Staffs were so energetic and speaks English fluently! I would like to come back to Amsterdam and might stay here again. See you again Amsterdam..

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Velarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Velarie,

Thank you very much for your very positive review with a 5 out of 5 scoring, we are very proud on that.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work. We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,100 reviews
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#130 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#109 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Property: Ibis Amsterdam City West
Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing