We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel; value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ranked #130 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is a good hotel & offers great value for money, especially if you make the most of Amsterdam's cheap public transport cards. The hotel was comfortable and only 15mins from the centre on bus

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Jon K,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

Our hotel is indeed located only 10-12 minutes by bus number 48 from Amsterdam Central Station. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel is nicely located on the outskirts of Amsterdam. But with great ease the city centre is accessible. There is a great cheap bus service but also the taxi service is nicely priced and very quick.
Rooms were clean, comfortable and warm. I would recommend requesting a top floor room over looking the road. A great view over the city outskirts.. :)

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a top floor room over looking the road. A great view over the city outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor and ofcourse for staying with us. We are very proud that you gave us a top score from 5 out of 5.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Booked this Hotel when I booked the ferry from Newcastle and was not disappointed at all. Very nice Hotel situated just outside Amsterdam. The Hotel was clean and staff where very friendly and helpful. The room was a double and it had loads of room with an amazing bathroom. There was a bus to Amsterdam just at top of the road and it took 15 minutes to get there. For a 48 hr travel ticket which covered buses and trams it was only 12.80 euros which is amazing considering the prices in Newcastle. I would recommend this Hotel to anybody going to The Dam...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordiehorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel. Congratilations on your Anniversary from all of us here at ibis Amsterdam City West!

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

During our recent trip through six European cities we stayed all in Ibis hotel except one in Vienna which was booked six months before our trip started. We choose Ibis because we wanted to sleep in the same comfortable bed in every city visited. Rooms are all same, small but clean. We ate breakfast in all but this Amsterdam one, because it cost sixteen euros per person and we can have better choice in downtown Amsterdam costs less then ten euros for both of us. You can have several public transportation choices to/from this hotel. To downtown we took bus 48 which is about ten minutes walk from hotel. Coming back at night by bus 48 to last stop Sloterdijk then transfer to either bus 36 (two stops) or metro (one stop to Isolatorweg) walk to hotel is one block away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Our hotel is indeed located just 10-12 minutes from Amsterdam Central Station. Also for the way back to the hotel you can use busnumber 48 (or 348 in the night) from Amsterdam Central Station (no need to change at Sloterdijk). The busstop is currently located at 5 minutes walking, but will be moved to the front of the hotel mid december.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A large group of 13 on stag weekend and all well catered for. Rooms wee clean and serviceable, if a little utilitarian with a modular shower room. The location I very commercial but the local bus rout. Number 48 is only a short walk or a taxi ride to the Central station. We only had coffee or tea in the morning and evening drinks without sampling the food but what we saw looked good.

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury d be careful of the intermittent shower temperatures..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Neal,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon as a married man!

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in 2 rooms and arrived by car;Located two blocks east of the ring : A10 (S102 exit),a standard Ibis hotel with a clean,confortable room,
To reach Amsterdam centraal station in 15 mn ,take bus n°48,the bus stop (named contactweg)is one block west of the hotel ,and for runners,there is a red bricked path just beyond that stop that leads to a vast area of pastures,canals,with good opportunities for exercise.
Parking is free on week end in front of the hotel. Burger King right next door,for info we were disapointed by the coffe house located at the corner of contactweg.

A large group checked in before us and had trouble with their reservation.Line was building up and I suggest in this situation someone from the staff to show up either to take care of them or to check in with no delay the following people waiting.It was 6pm,so I guess someone else was available..
When checking out,,they first charged me a parking fee for 4 nights altghough I had parked only 2 days in the ibis parking as week end is free in the street,I had to make my point but after a few minutes they realized their mistake and apologized.check and keep bills...
But globally,a very good option when you aretraveling by car.

Room Tip: At night Transformator weg is not a busy road,so we did not have any noise problem;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pausadias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the quality of the service provided. We are indeed one of the only places within the ring of Amsterdam where you can park free of charge in the evenings and during the entire weekend.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

First things first: Yes, it's not in the city center and there is nothing close by; and yes, the breakfast is overpriced. But as long as you understand those things, you will have a very pleasant stay in this hotel. We stayed for three nights during the Amsterdam marathon and had a very relaxing a nice stay. The hotel is nowhere near the canals or the city center, which I was prepared for and didn't mind. The public transportation was close and fast, and you could be in the center in less than 20 minutes. The only downside of the location in a commercial/industrial area is that there is literally nowhere to eat nearby (except Burger King). We found the hotel restaurant a bit pricey (the breakfast is a lot pricey, though convenient) but since there was nothing nearby we had to order pizza delivery one night.

But the rooms are nice and clean, the beds are comfortable (and the location means that it was amazingly quiet), the bathroom 'pods' are quite interesting, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They seem to realize that the location isn't perfect and tried to make that up to us through their personality and friendly demeanor. Considering this hotel can cost half of what a worse one does in the center, the City West hotel is a wonderful option for travelers on a budget or business travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starwrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Starwrang,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel during Amsterdam Marathon.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. Our hotel is indeed located just outside of the main city centre. Busnumber 48 brings you in 10-12 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station. Busstop is currently at 5 minutes walk from the hotel but will be moved to the front of the hotel early December.

We hope to welcoem you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#76 of 375 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#105 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,183 reviews
Rembrandtplein
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam West
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam West
#163 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#114 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,907 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,540 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#153 of 375 in Amsterdam
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $71 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing