We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect for weekend visit to Amsterdam if on a budget” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ranked #124 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Perfect for weekend visit to Amsterdam if on a budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We looked at many hotels of all types & prices before booking Ibis City West. Have stayed at ibis hotels in UK & Europe & this was a good standard for a budget hotel. Room was on 6th floor & was very clean, tidy, modern, & of reasonable size for budget hotel.
We had taken train from Schipol to Slotterdijk station, 15 min ride @ €3.70 ea, then 10 min walk to hotel.
Hotel staff were all very helpful, from reception & bar staff to the room maids.
Reception gave advice on travel to centre by bus route 48 which is 5 min walk to bus stop & then 15 min ride to Amsterdam central station. You also buy GVB travel pass form reception which gives unlimited travel on all local bus, tram & ferry route to Amsterdam city. 72 hour pass costs €16.50 each which is great value.
We did not try the breakfast or bar meals so have no comment on this. Burger King is next door so you can get good coffee & fast food at reasonable price.
There is small cafe also near by, but this seemed closed this weekend. Chinese restaraunt also about 10 min walk from Ibis, again we did not try this.
Lidl supermarket is also very close so you can supplies of essentials if you need so.
We both found this a great base to explore Amsterdam as we do not mind short journey to the centre, unlike London which takes a long time by public transport.
Our only disappointment was that the room did not have facilities for tea/coffee making, unlike most budget hotels in UK. Also there was some noise from Burger King but this only when you had the window open.
Would we recommend, yes we would & we are already planning next visit to Amsterdam & will use this Ibis again for that visit.
Good location, good hotel (budget), good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbyman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Rugbyman10,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Amsterdam.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    764
    277
    41
    20
See reviews for
233
627
76
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

1/2 Hour walk into Amsterdam centre, bus service good , train station 10 min walk direct to airport 2 stops 3.50 per person. Taxi from airport 50 euros big difference.
Rooms clean but basic breakfast good, staff extremely helpful.
Would return again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear susiemos,

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Reagrds,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aydin, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you can afford, prefer a hotel at city center, but if you have a limited budget, this location is not bad too. You can reach to hotel by bus number 48, it takes 10-15 minutes from Centraal Station.
Staff was helpful, rooms were OK, neighbourhood was quite.
It would be better if there were mini bar and bathroom slippers in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melll6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Melll6,

May I offer a personal thank you for sending a review of our hotel to Tripadvisor.

We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

this hotel is standard value for Ibis Hotel. but i dislike the location, i travel with big family, should choose ibis Airport Schippol instead i guess. the location quite far from the bus stop and the tram! since the nearest bus stop (in the google map, in front hotel) NOT functioned .. and nothing to see nearby, even restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Handara,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of ibis Amsterdam City West on TripAdvisor.

I am very sorry to hear that you didn't like our location. Our location is within the ring of Amsterdam at about 10 minutes by bus (line 48) to Amsterdam Central Station. Subway line 50 is directly behind the hotel with a connection to Rai congres centre. If you are looking for a airport location, you can indeed better go for ibis Amsterdam Airport. Our hotel is very close to the city centre of Amsterdam and not the airport.

We hope to welcome you back soon in one of the ibis hotel in Amsterdam.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is very good hotel, and we were generally satisfied with our stay, but triple room that we had was a bit small, with just 2 regular single beds and third additional bed was small. Also, the wardrobe is too small for 3 persons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank GuestST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear GuestST,

Thank you very much for providing the feedback about your stay on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you our triple rooms were smaller than you expected.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future in a double or twin room.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We used a bus line number 48 moving to Sloterdejk. It takes around 15 minutes to the Central station.
The biggest problem is that there are no food shops or supermarkets, only few cafes. But in general, everything was OK

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank suyeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Suyeta,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The nearest supermarket is at Sloterdijk Station (about 10 minutes walk). We do offer vendingmachines in the hotel with an assortment of snacks and drinks.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent hotel with very good facilities. Helpfull & friendly staff. Very good value for money. Breakfast buffet very good.
Served by very good public transport links to city centre. Metro service a little "long winded" but, to be fair, only takes approx 20 mins to city centre.
Bus service excellent - only taking 10-15 mins to city centre (Note bus stop Contactweg not Kabelweg as listed).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank dave_royle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear dave_royle,

Thank you very much for your 5 out of 5 rating on Tripadvisor.

The newly renovated hotel has indeed a direct buslink to Central Station. I will pass the positive comments about our staff to the hotelemployees, they will be very hapy to hear that.

I hope to see you back in the neaur future in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#119 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#69 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Property: Ibis Amsterdam City West
Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing