We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect extras.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ranked #129 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Where the hotel itself was very pleasant - would have like coffee making facitities in the room instead of having to purchase from half a cup of coffee @ 2.50 Euros from downstairs. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very poor for 16.00 Euros and decided to skip it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear dawnjackson,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I would like to thank you for complimenting our staff and I am happy to share your comment with them.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't try our full hot and cold buffet breakfast.

We hope to see you back soon in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Amsterdam City West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Me and my friends got 3 rooms out and on the day of our departure we all got a supposed accidental knock on the door at 9am. This is clearly done to make sure you are up. I went on a holiday with the boys, not my mum. I didn't need a wakeup call. We paid up until 10am not 9am.
Hotel was fine apart from that. Costs 20 euros in a taxi into town or 2 euros 80 on the bus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Paul V,

Thank you very much for your comments on the website. I am very sorry to hear that you were awaken on the departure day and I do apologize for that.

We do offer Do Not Disturb cards in the room if you don't want to be disturbed during your stay. Our check-out time is 12 o'clock.

I hope you would like to try the hotel again for a future stay in Amsterdam.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DUS_Rail_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tipically Ibis. Good place to stay at if you're looking for economy-class accommodation and want to be sure in its quality. Everything essential, no surprises. Now (January 13) the breakfast room is being renovated, the work in progress causes some minor inconveniencies

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman_Jour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Roman_Jour,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive comments about our hotel. The renovation of the breakfastroom is now completely ready. All our public area's are now in the new ibis look and feel.

We hope to see you again soon in the hotel.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in December for a short city break away. We arrived at the hotel and found that the reception area was undergoing renovations but we had not been informed of this beforehand. We had to carry our heavy suitcase up 3 flights of stairs to reach the temporary reception area which wasn't exactly convenient. However, the man who checked us in was very friendly and helpful as were all staff members and I was impressed with how well they spoke English.

The room was standard for an Ibis Hotel, however, we felt that tea making facilities would have been nice. The shower was very good and powerful, which is always nice when on a break. It was a very clean room and smelt clean too. The bed was very comfortable and we had plenty of towels to use.

Breakfast was pretty standard too- nothing special. Again it would have been nice to have plentiful supply of English Breakfast tea as herbal tea is not really something we enjoy.

I don't know why people are complaining about the location of the hotel in relation to the city centre. It's only a 10 minute bus journey away if that and the buses come every 10 minutes, even on Sundays. I would strongly recommend getting a 3 day bus pass if staying for that length of time because it is well worth the €16 and is much more convenient than getting a ticket everytime you get on. These passes are valid on the metro and trams as well so it is definitely value for money.

I would recommend going to the Artis Zoo and Anne Frank's house when visiting Amsterdam.

Overall a very pleasant stay and we were very sad to leave. We would definitely return to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GC4AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear GC4AH,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about your stay in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the service of our employees.

I am very sorry to hear that you were not well informed about the renovation taking place. I do apologize for this. The renovation of the hotellobby, restaurant and bar is almost ready now, we stopped for the Christmas and New Years period. From 7 untill 23 January we will renovate the breakfastroom in the hotel (the impact on the guests that will stay in the hotel will be very limited), we will serve breakfast in the main restaurant downstairs during this period.

We hope that you will come back to the hotel during a next visit to Amsterdam to see the end result of our new public area's.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

'far' from town.
very close from metro,bus etc...
dont ride a bike there, is too expensive.is cheaper go by bus.
there is a burger king in the first floor, but they are not open until late...so, considerer do a picnic in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diogoluism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vytenis61
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#115 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,793 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,116 reviews
Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
#181 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $97 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing