We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste!”
Review of White Tulip Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Tulip Hostel
Ranked #181 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 5, 2012

this place is a real waste!
DO NOT GO THERE!
we went in winter and it was like -0'C in the room as their damn windows don't close all the way and there is a CONSTANT FLOW OF COLD AIR into the room.
it is also very noisy and very unhygienic.
we stayed there for 4days and our rubbish pile in the room wasn't cleaned out even once!
and the staffs are REALLY REALLY RUDE!!!
we once left our towels hanging on our bedsides(to dry them after using)
and when we got back to the room after a day of outing,we found them all missing!
and we went down to the small broom closet reception and inquired about our towels,but we were told that the cleaners must have took them mistakenly(they provide white towels but our towels were bright colored ones) and we demanded that they bring them back as its unhygienic to use that DIRTY HOSTEL's towels.
but that RUDE CHINESE RECEPTIONIST asked us back "are ur towels from Louis Vuitton? if not,then just take one of our towels"
man how RUDE of him.

and the bathrooms, they are all common bathrooms and all are small sized.
with NO PRIVACY at all!!

PLEASE DO NOT EVER CONSIDER GOING TO WHITE TULIP.
its a total rubbish place with BAD SERVICE!!!
i wouldn't even give them 1 star.
0star for a BAD place and even WORSE service!
TOTAL WASTE!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinodhkrsna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 397 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

We just arrived and it's already awful. Very small rooms. Smelly. Unfriendly guy at the Reception. And they stairs are so very small. You can hear everything your neighbour or the people outside are doing. Believe me, don't stay here unless it's the only place available in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

the hostel is very close to the central station (about 5 minutes), it's not so good to sleep because the pub downstair it's noisy. The room are clean but it's still an hostel, so people come and go often. It's in front of "Baba" coffee shop and in the center of The Red Light District, very close to Dam Square. It's good for a funny week end with friends but no more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samueleeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

four of us stayed at the white tulip inn for 2 nights in a 5 bed private ensuite room.
the room was very clean, spacious and the beds were really comfy. the ensuite was a small wet room - fine for the 2 nights we were there. friendly staff and the location is brilliant! a short walk from pretty much everything. would definitely stay here again! for the price it was excellent.

Room Tip: our room was right next door to the church- the church bells did ring but it really didnt bother me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_berry2091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We slept in a 10-pers. room with 3 friends and some other random guys. Okay I agree it's a cheap hostel (10 euro night) but this was really HELL. The other guys smoked weed during the day, the night, the evening, the morning in the room!. At night one person even sniffed cocaine...and pucked it out 10 minutes later...
We could not sleep at all. A friend of mine who is asmatic had an attack becouse of the smoke but the staff refused to give us an other room first. After more complains they offered us a private room but we needed to pay 60 euro again! On top of this the room was smaller then a little closet. We are students and try to live cheap so we didn't take the private room. We moved out and lost our 20 euro each of the next night we also booked in this AWFULL hostel. It says it's better to sleep on the street then to stay in this WORST HOSTEL EVER.
Hope you read this and make another choice. At the 'Rijksmuseum' are a lot of good, cheap hostels :)

See ya

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

A group of us (young adults) went a few days ago and as you know it was freezing, the heating was on full so wasn't cold whilst sleeping and the showers never ran out of hot water. The staff were very friendly and they even provide towels and free wi-fi which was really useful. The beds were comfy and there are seating areas outside the dorms which are good if you didn't want to wake the other travellers up. We stayed there for two nights and they didn't rush us out of the dorm either which was also a plus. Being located in the centre of the red light district some people screw their noses up but it wasn't bad there atall, the location was perfect with a pub for food and drinks right underneath you to restaurants and shops all under 5 minutes away. I would stay here again and I would also recommend it. It wasn't hard to find from the train station either. I would also recommend places like The Winston for cheap beers, Waffle and Crepes shop which were yum and Wok and Walk which does the best noodles. (which are all 2 minutes away)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We come every year and always stay at the tulip, you cant beat it, have stayed at others before but not anymore, best place for groups, rooms size, position, cleaniliness, always hot water, cant fault it, see you in Feb
Seb

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebbyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 372 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#115 of 237 in Amsterdam
451 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#202 of 237 in Amsterdam
177 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#10 of 237 in Amsterdam
595 reviews
Centrum
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
#15 of 237 in Amsterdam
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Tulip Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Tulip Hostel

Address: Warmoesstraat 87, 1012 HZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $22 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — White Tulip Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Tulip Hostel is located near everything. We are close to all the major attractions of Amsterdam including the Dam Square, Central Station, coffee shops, Amsterdam's night life, the Flower Market, Madame Tussaud, various museums and much much more! We will be happy to guide you to the most famous places to hang around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Tulip Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Tulip Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing