We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay, strategic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #188 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 27, 2014

very good location next to the main attractive area of Amsterdam and transportation, room was clean; in my rate breakfast was included and it was ok.Don't pay with credit card because they charge 5%fee, we pay cash because we knew before the arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lllaura1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 811 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at The Doria. We found all the staff friendly and very helpful. The rooms are on the small side, but what do you expect in the centre of Amsterdam?. Our room (102) on the first floor looked out onto the bustling street & was amply big enough, the bathroom was on the small side but ok.
If you want a cheap place to sleep & get showered & changed then this place is ideal. Breakfast was typical continental cereal, toast, bread rolls, cheese, ham ect; . If you eat in the restaurant below you get 10% discount.
I would defiantly stay here again & i recommend it.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank nananx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I picked this hotel by its location. I already knew the area and wanted to stay there. The room is super tiny. The bathroom is big compared to the size of the room and the shower was pleasant good. There was construction close to the hotel and noise started at 5:30 am, which was awful. It ended around 9 am but by that time I needed to get up. Breakfast was super basic but decent. People do not respect the non-smoking signs but it seems that is all over Amsterdam. Centraal Station is like 10 min away and the hotel is close to trams/metro and all the main atractions. If what you are looking for is location at low cost that is a good place to stay. I don´t recommend to picky people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 Night stay at the Doria Hotel. I would definitely return. The room was quite small (all budget rooms in Amsterdam are though!) but very clean and tidy. The bathroom had a good shower and towels and soap provided. The internet (free) was excellent and streaming from Internet was smooth and fast. Breakfast each morning was very nice and simple (toast, cereal, eggs, cheese and ham with coffee or juice) and you simply helped yourself. Hotel location was excellent and your literally a stones throw away from the square and shops and amenities. All in all_ for the price paid and quality of the hotel and it's location then I'd say it was very good indeed! Highly recommended and would definitely return!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank richardhT860IY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel doria in a triple room for 3 nights over Easter weekend. We always go for location over luxury on city breaks as we are hardly in the room so for the great price we didn't have high expectations for the hotel itself, but we knew the location would be spot on.
We were wrong not to expect much! The hotel was perfect.
The room and bathroom were basic and small, but the beds were the comfiest i have ever stayed in on holiday, the shower was powerful and the room was cleaned with fresh towels daily.
We also had a free of charge safety deposit box in the room too.
The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and polite.
Guests receive 10% discount in the Doria Italian restaurant and also in the Mexican over the road.
The hotel is located just off Dam square, the location couldnt be more central.
In all we absolutely loved the Hotel Doria and will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and couldn't recommend it enough. I travelled with 2 friends and we booked a twin room for myself and my friend and a single room for another friend and although the rooms are slightly small they were spotlessly clean and we were provided with maid service with clean towels everyday. The showers in the hotel are awesome!!
Breakfast was included in the price and there was a choice of meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, bread, rolls, yoghurts and fruit juice.
You could not ask for a better location as the hotel is situated in the heart of the city. The train station is less than a 10min walk away, Red Light District 2min walk and Dam Square 1min. There is a great Italian restaurant at the bottom of the hotel (where guests get a discount) and there are some brilliant restaurants right opposite the hotel.
The hotel staff are helpful and friendly.
The only thing I would suggest if booking this hotel is to ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as ours was on the main road and was slightly noisy at night as its a busy thoroughfare but didn't really interfere with us getting to sleep.
I would 100% recommend this hotel, I have travelled all over the world and stayed in many hotels and this one although not a 5 star hotel provided us with everything we needed for a great price and most importantly to me was clean and had a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at he the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dourpussdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tippytoes245
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#131 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,427 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#201 of 372 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#164 of 372 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 372 in Amsterdam
841 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#156 of 372 in Amsterdam
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $173 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doria Hotel Amsterdam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing