We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location and clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #179 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location and clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and couldn't recommend it enough. I travelled with 2 friends and we booked a twin room for myself and my friend and a single room for another friend and although the rooms are slightly small they were spotlessly clean and we were provided with maid service with clean towels everyday. The showers in the hotel are awesome!!
Breakfast was included in the price and there was a choice of meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, bread, rolls, yoghurts and fruit juice.
You could not ask for a better location as the hotel is situated in the heart of the city. The train station is less than a 10min walk away, Red Light District 2min walk and Dam Square 1min. There is a great Italian restaurant at the bottom of the hotel (where guests get a discount) and there are some brilliant restaurants right opposite the hotel.
The hotel staff are helpful and friendly.
The only thing I would suggest if booking this hotel is to ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as ours was on the main road and was slightly noisy at night as its a busy thoroughfare but didn't really interfere with us getting to sleep.
I would 100% recommend this hotel, I have travelled all over the world and stayed in many hotels and this one although not a 5 star hotel provided us with everything we needed for a great price and most importantly to me was clean and had a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at he the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dourpussdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    288
    224
    57
    23
See reviews for
73
226
114
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I would thoroughly recommend hotel Doria for any first time (or return) explorer of Amsterdam. The hotel could not be more conveniently located, one minute from Dam Square and about 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal station.

The hotel was very reasonably priced. I paid €210 for 3 nights in a single (small), ensuite room. The rooms are small with single beds but the room was absolutely spotless. You are provided with fresh towels every day.

Breakfast was acceptable. Fresh boiled eggs, bread, and a selection of salad cheese jams marmalades and cold meat were made available along with tea, coffee and fruit juices. Not an extravagant spread by any means but it was more than acceptable.

Check in is available from 1pm and our rooms were ready for us when we arrived. They also offer a small storage cupboard for luggage storage before and after check in/check out if you need it. There are also small electronic safety deposit boxes in every room which came in very handy.

Oh and the showers are amazing.

Superb Location
Great Price
Very clean& staff are very friendly

Id gladly stay at Hotel Doria again and recommend it to anyone travelling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel - these ones seem to be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s1056313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced small room with discoloured bedding and pillows that should have been thrown in a skip years ago, window didn't close properly so very noisy and the icing on the cake was the dogs mess at the bottom of the stairs which the staff were oblivious to even though you could smell it in reception. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cosmolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is very centrally located near the Dam Square.
A lot of restaurants around that area.
The hotel is old an the rooms are small. Hygienne wise it is not too bad, but the hotel doesn't give you the feeling of being a place where you want to hang out for too long.
Breakfast is very lousy, but you'll manage if you are not too picky.
The staff of the hotel is nice and hard working.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Its a fantastic basic hotel, very clean helpful staff, very central located, its true the rooms are very small but they are very cosy, the receptionist were are firendly even the cleaners, nothing to complain, there"s all you need there, even the price its worth it. Would recommand this hotel to any one.

Room Tip: I were in room 205 very quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardona969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,036 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#167 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#218 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#128 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#123 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doria Hotel Amsterdam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing