We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent location and breakfast but the room very basic !!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doria Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent location and breakfast but the room very basic !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the doria at the start of december. the hotel is in a brilliant location, right in the heart of amsterdam just off dam square and round the corner from the red light area. the room was a letdown though as it was just a white room with two beds in it (a bit like a prison cell). i think if you pay more you can get a better room. the hotels joined onto an italian restaurant and pizza shop and the breakfast was lovely and you had the spacious restaurant from 7-10.45am. all in all we had a brilliant weekend and would return but pay a bit more for a better room.

Room Tip: book a taxi back to the airport with the hotel and save about 15 euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    284
    222
    57
    23
See reviews for
72
221
113
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, BC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We found that the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff here made up for the very cramped room. Good basic breakfast. Wifi worked well in the lobby, intermittent in the room--didn't matter really since the room was too small to spend much time in anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is located just off Dam Square which is central to everything. Our room was lovely clean and warm. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. They have a computer you can use which we found really helpful to check in for our flight home and they were happy to print our boarding passes. Breakfast was great with a good selection. The restaurant downstairs gives you 10% off if you are staying at thje hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and would definately book this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Clean hotel,friendly receptionists,great location, had a goodnight sleep,rooms were very basic but ok,breakfast was ok for the price you pay;eggs,toast,yoghurt,sandwiches,fruit juice,coffee. Good choice if you are looking for a basic but clean hotel right in the city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hannelore A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was truly the worst hotel I've ever stayed in - should have realised as soon as I saw the sign saying 'Hotel and Pizzaria'! I was in a tiny, tiny room that looked like it could be rented by the hour. Staff perfectly fine. Everything else absolutely terrible.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#136 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,987 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#171 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#220 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#96 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#121 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#249 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doria Hotel Amsterdam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing