We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #192 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    302
    249
    60
    26
See reviews for
85
244
121
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Doria is in a great location just beside Dam Square.The room was small but clean.there is an Italian restaurant downstairs which served delious food.Staff couldnt have been more helpful. I suppose the only downside was that our room looked out onto the street which was lovely but early morning was very noisy.A restaurant opposite was being refurbished and there was a lot of action out on that street,! However this would not put us off staying there again. we had a great time in Amsterdam.!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Roma34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

nice hotel with friendly staff but frequented by noisy customers who had very little concern for my sleep at 4am in the morning

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank steven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotels location is fantastic.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful.
We booked a double non-smoking room with nice view or balcony.
On arrival we were given a room with 2 single metal beds with a window onto the street.
Upon query we were told no other rooms were available but we would be moved to the room next door the following day. This was not a last minute booking and we had booked many weeks ahead.
The room was very small and devoid of any colour or decorations like pictures or mats even.
I would compare it to a youth hostel. It was really not nice to say the least.
The bathroom was small and quite old but clean, and had no surface to stand ones toiletries.
The small box tv was up on a cupboard. Not many tv channels to choose from in English.
There was no stand or table to put our suitcases on either so one had to step over cases to move around the room.
The second day we were moved to a room next door. This was exactly like the previous room exxcepting it had a double bed and a small flatscreen tv this time.
I would definately never recommend this hotel to anyone, married or single.
This hotel is not worth what you pay for.
To put it plainly, it is horrible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Meath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I am a guy who has standards when it comes to hotels. I've been to Amsterdam and stayed in the Barbazon Palace & the Amrath.
I was travelling to Amsterdam on my own for the first time and was really just looking for somewhere central to lay the head at night.
I'll admit to having some concerns about some of the reviews but I needn't have been worried. The rooms although small and basic (it was a single room after all!) was clean and comfy, had a great sleep each night.
The hotel isnt a 4 or 5 star hotel (it is above a pizzeria after all!) but then it doesnt claim to be. The breakfast on offer is tasty, fresh bread each morning, eggs, ham, cheese, etc.
The staff are friendly and couldnt be faulted.
I probably wouldnt recommend this hotel to a couple who like peace and quiet but for someone looking for somewhere central (within 5mins walk, you can either be at a tram stop or in the Red Light District) but for someone looking for somewhere central, clean and comfy who doesnt mind the noise from outside then here is ideal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,263 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#207 of 364 in Amsterdam
455 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#177 of 364 in Amsterdam
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
772 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doria Hotel Amsterdam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing