We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location...but that's about it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Globe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Globe to your Saves list
Hotel The Globe
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, 1012 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #295 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location...but that's about it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location is right on the border of the red light district and it has its own 'smoking room' but the rooms were cramped, old and generally dirty with little security for your stuff. I'd only stay here again if I really had to. Beds were uncomfortable and they pack as many beds as can possibly fit into a room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simzark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    75
    76
    40
    73
See reviews for
4
15
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My friends and I stayed at this hostel for 3 days. The location was great as it was close to central station, the centre of Amsterdam and was in the heart of the red light district but the hostel itself was pretty average. We had to pay a ridiculous price because of kings day which sucked but went with it because it was still the cheapest option. The form rooms are very basic, with bunk beds that were comfortable. Our private bathroom was decent enough but there we no barriers for the shower which next that the entire bathroom floor became drenched after each shower. The downstairs pub was alright but there didn't seem to be many travellers there for a chat which gave it a dreery atmosphere. The internet was only available in this area and it was pretty rubbish. It continued to drop out which made it difficult when trying to book future accommodation and train trips etc. If your after a basic hostel where you plan to spend little time actually in the hostel then this is the place. Otherwise I'd avoid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieroyal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Positive:
Great location in the middle of everything
Reasonable cost - though I think renting a flat works out cheaper
Had quad rooms - actually very spacious and bunk beds are comfortable

Negative:
Had no soap in dispensers and towels are not provided so take your own
Early check out - they make sure you leave by 10.00 am

Room Tip: Location is noisy so be prepared!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have visited Amsterdam numerous times for short trips with the lads. Every time I visit I stay here, extremely good value. I always book the private rooms, I have never stayed in the shared dorms. The rooms have always been clean and so are the bathrooms. The location is absolutely perfect. The staff can be a bit moody sometimes but meh that doesn't bother me. Downstairs is the bar which has a wicked smoking section where you can chill, play pool and have a drink. The breakfast is also nice and not expensive at all. Its somewhere to stay with your boys, it isn't somewhere I would take my partner, but for a boys trip its the perfect solution.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abashanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Having never stayed in a hostel before I wasn't expecting much but this was good. Great location, clean rooms and bedding and a newly refurbished bathroom. We had a room for 4 and there was plenty of room. Staff were polite and helpful when asked but not in your face. I'm sure food was ok but there are more picturesque places to eat as this has a sports bar. Reasonably quiet we got a good nights sleep. As said location is everything and this is right in the centre of everything and moments from the station. I'd stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jama20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The rooms themselves are nice, a great view of the canal and lockers, but chairs to get to the top bunks instead of ladders and small and few bathrooms; not uncommon to have to shower on the floor above or below. Never did get the wifi to work, bar had cheap drinks and food but don't have high expectations for the food. Staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful. Was expensive as well but the rooms themselves were nice.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the front of the hostel, great view of the main canal. But can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I wasn't expecting much from this hostel, but it was better than I expected, its location is minutes away from central station, dam square and the red light district, the staff were friendly and helpful, and it had a nice atmosphere. my bed and room was fine, no problem, I have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#284 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#309 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Globe

Property: Hotel The Globe
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, 1012 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing