We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room and good location”
Review of Hotel The Globe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel The Globe
Ranked #313 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed at the Globe in June 2013 with 4 other lads from work. We had a large room that slept 5 people with basic beds and a basic bathroom. The price was relatively cheap and for the amount of time spent in the room the Globe was more than adequate. The rooms were clean, but basic, and the location is great so overall I would stay here again for a lads trip to Amsterdam

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank mledg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Globe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 341 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Nice location. Hugely overpriced (10 man dorm for 1 night was 18 euros). The breakfast was disgusting. The staff were rude - barman wouldnt let me have a tap water, so had to buy a 250ml for 2.50. Also didnt clean rooms, came in shouting one morning which was deeply unpleasant. Never again.

Room Tip: just dont go to this place
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have stayed in this place on 2 occasions now, the main reason I returned was because of its location within Amsterdam with everything you need close by and because of the price. Both times I have been with a group of 'lads' and we've stayed in a private room for 4 people. Both have been clean and comfortable. The only thing I can say that was rather frustrating was when we attempted to check in at 10am we were told to go away and come back at 1pm as our room wasn't ready. We grumbled for a while as it was a Thursday morning and it can't exactly have been a busy night for the hotel! The lady on reception then asked if we had cash of which we replied yes and miraculously our room was now available to check in to! Quite annoying as our room was available but the receptionist seemed to just enjoy being difficult!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingOtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Your bags are absolutely not safe when the cleaner cleans the rooms. This guy will steal stuff from you if you are not there. Bathroom broken (flush button broken). No internet for 4 days and counting when I left, of course no progress being made as I left. This place is scum.


Try Aivengo Hostel or B&B Vondelpark for a good cheap room where your things are safe and you can look the people in their eye without vomiting.

Room Tip: Aivengo Hostel or B&B Vondelpark.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichmondTrevilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights in December 2012. The bed was not bad and the bathroom was clean. The best point is that it is near the red light district, just 5 minutes to walk. Moreover, the price was great, only 11€ per night at that time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nguyanhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've stayed in this place on two occasions and will do for a third time in December. The rooms and bathrooms are basic but clean. It's perfect for a group of lads just wanting a cheap stay and a good laugh. There is a smoking room open till at least 3 am, where joints and cigarettes are aloud. A bottle of Heineken is 2.50 euro and loads of snacks to choose from when you're high. There is plenty of other branded beer and spirits to choose from for an average price. There are pool tables, benches, tv's in the smoking area. Outside in the back of the hostel are benches and chairs by the canal which makes it perfect for a joint or some bong hits. The breakfast is surprisingly very good at only 6/7 euro. You can walk in and out of the hostel whenever you like as the reception is open 24/7. The location could not be perfect enough, everything around you is walking distance, and 10 minute walk tops from amsterdam central. It's not the Hilton but it'll do for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite warm, but if you're going in winter this wont be a problem, it'll benefit yo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeKinrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

this hostel wasn't bad. we had a 3 bed with private bathroom.
the room was clean and the shower room was clean and seemed quite new.
the bar prices seemed on par with the surrounding establishments.
What let it down was the night doorman/barman. Don't think he appreciated our banter to be honest. Also the window in our room opened to the room next doors window so the room got hit with the smell of their smoke when they hung out their window.
also do not bring anyone back because they will not be allowed in your room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert_xr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 371 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
West Side Inn Hotel
#301 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,928 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#251 of 371 in Amsterdam
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Globe

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, 1012 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $42 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing