We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and friendly”
Review of Hotel The Globe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel The Globe
Ranked #322 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Easy to find from Central Station, taking about 5-10 mins. Allowed us to check in a bit early which meant we could get rid of our bags. Big bar downstairs with smoking room (cigarettes and marihuana allowed). Rooms a bit crowded (6 beds in small space) but nice bathroom - towels available from reception free of charge. Hotel is right by the Red Light district so plenty of night life in the area. Only disappointment was no kitchen staff in the Bar in the morning so no breakfasts available.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 352 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Despite some if the reviews on here I actually found this hostel excellent! It's in a great position in Amsterdam. The staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean, en suite was lovely. No problems with the shower at all despite 6 people using it one after the other! I have stayed here. Twice and on my second trip we had 2 rooms; one of 6 and one of 5 - overall from 3 different rooms they do vary in shapes and sizes and are basic but for a base whilst on a few nights away they're ideal! The food is really good and reasonably priced and I feel safe in the hostel and haven't had any bad experiences. Luggage is quite safely kept At the bottom of the stairs, and to enter the staircase to get any of the rooms a member of staff has to press the buzzer for the door to unlock - and if they do not recognise you from your stay they ask you to present a card to prove you are a guest. This made me feel very secure. Overall it's a budget hostel that does exactly what it says on the tin! You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missvixs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hostel was decent. Bathrooms and bedding were clean. Close to train station, Red Light District, and a lot of different attractions.The lockers outside the rooms were pretty beat up. I didnt even get to use one. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_H403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was Basic, we understood we had booked a budget hostel, however it consisted of 3 mattresses on the floor, no bed steads, a window that didn't close, and an Abattoir with a shower & toilet in. The walls were around 3mm thick, everything spoken in the rooms above, below and either side of us could be heard.
One good point is it is very close to the centre of Amsterdam, but its very hard to initially find as it as the end of a Cul-de-sac.
We found the Staff to be helpful, unless you wanted anything. The bar was useful as they showed English Football games, and served Walkers Crisp's, admittedly they were out of date and cost around €2 each.
If you do visit, even just for a drink, keep an eye out for the main man, as he is the spitting image of Timmy Mallet, including his glasses.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

In a good central location at the end of the red light district and although the rooms were clean it was extremely basic for the price we paid. The bar downstairs was quite dark and dull and there was only wifi downstairs. I will look for better value accomodation next time.

Room Tip: steep stairs to rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a six bed with a private bathroom on the second floor - was great for 6 25yr olds on a trip. Bit noisy outside at night, but it is in the corner of he red light district. The bar is ok, bit loud during Ajax matches, and the coffee is awful, but reasonable otherwise. You get free towels, the bathrooms are modern and clean, and the room was clean too (I double checked it was). Would recommend to anyone on a budget.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank TheBogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hostel and are not too fussy about sharing with strangers, the Hotel The Globe offers a large amount of beds in various sized rooms. Having stayed in several hostels and campsites in Amsterdam, I have now stayed at The Globe twice as even though the rooms are basic, the bathrooms are excellent and everyone I have met there has been nothing but friendly. Very secure and not one problem. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmiachkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#306 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,969 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#78 of 373 in Amsterdam
913 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#151 of 373 in Amsterdam
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Globe

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, 1012 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $31 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing