We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ,lovely hotel, very nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Ranked #176 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
givat shmuel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location ,lovely hotel, very nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Me and my husband spent 5 nights in Frisco. Inn.
We were very pleased and loved the place. It׳s location is in the center of town. 500 m walk from dam square. Perfect! Walking out of the hotel and everything is there. The central station, Damm square, the shopping street, a lot of foods and restaurants .
The room was small but very clean and pleasant. The staff was very very nice and helped in everything. We loved staying here and will defenetly stay there again.
The only thing we didn't like was the smoke that came into the room when the window was left open, because of the smoking guests down stairs. But what is Amsterdam without smoking...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamarzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    159
    69
    29
    21
See reviews for
6
226
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend and we were about 18/19 at the time. Literally a 5 minute walk from the main train station so you don't have to lug your suitcases too far. The Dutch guy who checked us in was really nice and kindly overlooked the fact we (accidentally) arrived before check in time. The room and ensuite were clean, functional and well presented.
I WOULD however say that this is more a place for 18-28 year olds like us. We could sometimes hear people passing/messing about in the corridor, naturally quite late at night. But, it didn't really phase us and it didn't disturb our sleep. The bar/reception downstairs also has a dj playing till late.
We had been to Amsterdam before and in terms of night time we think Leidseplein is the best area. It's touristy but fun with loads of pubs and away from the red light district where things can sometimes feel a little seedy. But It was 15 minutes tram ride inland from Frisco so in future I think it's worth getting a hotel closer to that end so you can just stumble in at the end of the night. Frisco basically backs onto the red light district and while I have never ever felt threatened or unsafe, Leidseplein does have a nicer atmosphere and I would say it's worth trekking a bit further with your luggage.
Still, one of the best value hotels we found and if you're young and not too fussy then you will thoroughly enjoy your stay!
NB the stairs are insanely steep. But it isn't Amsterdam without doing a vertical climb to your room!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 06Thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I`ve stay there for 4 nights-great place. Located in the city center 5 minutes walk from Central Train Station and Main street. Very friendly and proffesional staff, room was small (typical for Amsterdam so nothing to complain about). Even if its in the city centre very quiet and comfortable. Reccomended for young people,couples.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gryzback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for one night. The Rooms are above the bar and we stayed on a Thursday so it no dramas from the bar.

The stairs up to the room are crazy, very steep but it weren't a problem, a very dutch experience.

The room was proper smokey from others smoking out there windows and it was proper stinking. It was a tiny room with a unserviceable safe, dodgy television. The bed was really comfortable and clean, the shower was good and the amenities in General we're not too bad.

Te staff were really friendly and you get a 'buy one get one free' in the bar (winner)

This hotel was very cheap, and directly in the centre so you can't really argue with that.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Frisco Inn is virtually half way between Central Station and Dam Square (which is about 700 mtrs), and within 2-3 minutes walk of the red light district, 5-10 minutes walk of Anne Frank Museum and 20 minutes walk to the Flower Market. It is a surprisingly quiet location.
The hotel itself is comfortable, yes the stairs are steep, but it would seem the majority of stairs in Amsterdam properties are steep. But it only serves to add character. The bedrooms are not large but they have all the space you need, the en-suite is compact but clean.
The staff are helpful and informative, they told us where to buy from, where not to eat, etc.
There is a bar on the ground floor, which has a separate entrance to the hotel, which is well stocked and much cheaper than the bar next door.
Our flight home was 20.55, we were concerned about walking the streets with our cases, but the staff asked us if we wanted to leave our bags in their kitchen, free of charge. I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we were up on the third floor at the back, which was quiet and looked towards Central Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worthalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Amsterdam is probably the hardest city in Europe to find good accomodation with reasonable prices. As the city has this very unique architecture, the hotels are also very unique. And we are talking about one of the most visited - and most expensive - capital cities in Europe.

Said that, Frisco Inn is a good option for the price you pay. They are in the very heart of the city, just a stone throw away from the Centraal Station (and it does make a great difference in Amsterdam) and very close to the main attractions in the city (as the canal cruises, the Red Light District, lots of Coffee Shops etc).

However, you must have this in mind: you WILL climb some narrow holland-tipe steps to get to your room - even if you are lucky enough to get a room in the first floor.

Room Tip: The high you are, the must you climb. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipeomendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

5 minutes away from station, central to EVERYTHING. includes a safe & nicely furnished rooms.
bar below has dj box half way up the wall and has its own live music on weekends.

room was clean and had towels replaced daily (even though bins were not emptied)
We stayed Tuesday - Friday and found the hotel to be very quiet despite being in the middle of the city.
Can't really fault the room other than the shower that wouldn't stop dripping, was only noticable whilst in the bathroom though.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nm-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#196 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#56 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#308 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#267 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frisco Inn Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Property: Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Address: Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Frisco Inn Bar Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard double room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Frisco Inn Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frisco Hotel Bar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing