We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for the price you pay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Ranked #208 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed February 22, 2014

5 minutes away from station, central to EVERYTHING. includes a safe & nicely furnished rooms.
bar below has dj box half way up the wall and has its own live music on weekends.

room was clean and had towels replaced daily (even though bins were not emptied)
We stayed Tuesday - Friday and found the hotel to be very quiet despite being in the middle of the city.
Can't really fault the room other than the shower that wouldn't stop dripping, was only noticable whilst in the bathroom though.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nm-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 440 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

On the website we saw that each room has a safe. When we got the first time to the room, we didn't see any safe, so we go to talk with the receptionist, and she talked to us like we're stupid - she insisted that there is a safe in the room, and the problem is with us, because we couldn't find it. As an employee of 5 stars hotel in israel, I was deeply disappointed from the service I got. This is not what I've expected as a value for my money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaked B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great location, easy to find from the train station. Clean and modern rooms. There is a bit of noise from the street because it's soo central, backs right onto the red light district. Real value for money. Defo recommend to anyone. Stairs are a killer though!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wifey2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in January. The inn is in a superb location walking distance to everything. Our room was clean although it was small it was very cosy with comfortable beds and bed linen. The staff were helpful and did not hassle us at all we were free to come and go as we please and take food drinks up to our room
I would stay at this hotel again good value for price paid 170 Euros for three nights. Thank you Frisco inn

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank karolyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I loved this hotel. It was a bit tricky to find in the first place, but once we got there and figured out the lay of the city, we found it a very convenient place from which to explore. The staff at the front manages the bar, as well as the hotel, but they were always there ready to help. They were friendly, laid back, and attentive.

Most notable was of course the crazy flight of narrow winding stairs that you get to climb to get up to your rooms. This hallway was where most of the noise came from in the wee hours of the night as people stumbled up and down the staircase. But this was just all part of the adventure in Amsterdam.

We loved that you could walk out the door and be right in the heart of the winding alleys full of bars, coffee shops, restaurants and tourist attractions.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TriGirlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Bottom floor stinks of weed, beware of this, my partner and i could not handle the smell as we woke up feeling sick the next day. Moved to a higher floor of which the staff were obliging where the room smelt better and much fresher. Overall the rooms are clean and modern and what you would expect for the price, however do not stay on the first floor and try and get a room that doesn't face the courtyard in which there is a coffee shop blowing marijuana smoke right into your room.

Room Tip: choose a high floor despite the steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Boston942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We walked the cold winter streets of Amsterdam, and passed by the quaint little bar of the hotel, warm smiles, well stocked and priced reasonably. A billiard table can be seen beyond the bar, images flash of me and my friends holding glasses of warm beer and shooting pool.

We asked for the price for a night, 60Euros for a double, 50 for a smaller single, both with own toilet and bath. Not bad! The hotel manager/bar man proudly showed us room photos on their website which was pretty cool. Clean modern design and looks recently furbished with modern furture and fixtures.

I wouldnt mind spending my hard earned money and that's a good deal basing on my experience as a world traveller working for priceline (PCLN), the biggest travel company in the world.

We walked a flight of stairs to our rooms, it's a bit of a climb over the steep stairs, but nothing a group of young, reasonably mobile folks cant handle. The hotel has 6 rooms for a total of 12 rooms over 2 floors located above the bar, with an entry way on the street.

The doors opens to a room, reasonably sized, judging by eye to be 7x3 meters (21 sq.m). A double bed occupies the middle of the room, with a table for 2 in corner near the private bath, and an art deco inspired reading chair by the window, set against the efficient unit radiating heat all throughout the room.

The walls are painted light olive, with borders and electric fixtures rendered in white. The floors are faux wood planks which have become the standard for modern apartments, a large floor to ceiling window fully opens to a small balcony, the modern bathroom with an efficient radiator, modern fixtures and plumbing, completes the moden utilitarian look of the room. Unlike rooms in other hotels which have a stuffy claustrophobic feeling, this room feels surprisingly large for 2 people or a couple.

Sitting in the corner chair, i can see myself reading Anne Frank's diary. As i look out, i see tourists taking a stroll, restaurant shopkeepers stocking up their windows with fresh warm bread and quick meals and the police bikes parked at the station just a few meters down. The feeling of a safe and warm evening assures me of things to come.

A few steps north of the hotel lies the monument to freedom "The Grasshopper", one of the oldest cannabis coffee shops in the world. The Grasshopper lies on the street directly beside Dam Square and the canal boat terminus opposite the Christmas Market.

A few thoughts stand out from my visit.... a small modern hotel, reasonably priced, eclectic, and efficient. Managed by cool people who rake pride in what they do and know what the younger generations of travellers need. I hope they dont change their prices and business focus, they have got a good thing going now.

Great times in Amsterdam!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank one3mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#144 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,352 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#182 of 372 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#235 of 372 in Amsterdam
452 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frisco Inn Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Address: Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $79 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Frisco Inn Bar Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard double room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Frisco Inn Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frisco Hotel Bar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing