We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Ranked #209 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    177
    81
    36
    24
See reviews for
8
267
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Frisco was in perfect location. Caught the train from airport straight to Dam Square. 5 mins to hotel. Exellent locaton, very close to all that Amsterdam has to offer.
The Stairs are very steep but worth the climb. Our room was small but clean and we slept like babies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Not a bad hotel at all, great location, about a 5 minute walk from the station and close to everything you need, very clean and friendly hotel, A little bit noisy but you would expect this with the location, we have stayed here 3 times and would stay again.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessAndCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Ideally located in the centre of Amsterdam...close the tour bus pick-up point and canal rides and everything ele Amsterdam is famous for.

Great staff and clean room with Free Wi-fi.

Had a nice time

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahanash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We actually spent 3 nights there, but I always think of Blame it on the Boogie when I think of this hotel....
Anyhow ... We took a flight from London Southend Airport to Schiphol and got the train to Centraal - the hotel is literally 5 minutes walk from the station. I had never been to Amsterdam before and was slightly overwhelmed by crossing not only the roads but also tram lines AND separate bike lanes - I felt like I was dicing with death with every step i took! Once we negotiated the lanes and lines we found the hotel, which is, from the station, straight down Damrak and the first left, then the first right. You cannot miss the blue awning with the name of the hotel.

We were happily greeted by one of the guys who worked there (we met several during our 3 night stay) Jerry, who was very friendly. There wasnt a reception as such, as the bar doubles as the reception. We were told our room was on the top floor - I inwardly groaned as I knew from previous Trip Advisor reviews that the stairs were steep, very steep. We weren't disappointed as steep they ruddy well were!!! There are two flights to get to the first floor, then another two to get to the top floor. You seriously need your wits about you when ascending and descending - and let me tell you, being in Amsterdam your wits are often in short supply with all the drinks and weed thats on offer! But, even though my boyfriend hated the stairs with a passion, I began to see them as a challenge and a way of keeping fit during my 3 nights of constant eating!!! Don't get me wrong, I wasn't racing up and down them on my last day, but they weren't nearly as daunting as the first trip up there with your suitcases!

The room was a small double, again I was prepared for the size of the room from previous TA reviews - there were no luxuries like tea and coffee facilities or a phone - BUT it was clean and the bathroom was nice and looked as those it was recently decorated. Our view look out over Damrak. There was a TV which has a good selection of channels. The bed was very comfortable. Jerry also informed us that if we wanted we could smoke in the room with the window open...which was nice (if you wanted to smoke of course).

On a Friday and Saturday night the Frisco Bar has various house music DJs playing which ran until about 1am, which is quite a decent time in Amsterdam! Whilst we are not house music type people, we hung for a while and it was like a huge group of really friendly people who love their lives in Amsterdam and the hotel seemed like a very cool hang out.

We tended to retire to our rooms relatively early as we spent most mornings/afternoons walking around and seeing the sites, then we would eat and have a little smoke (entirely optional!) and then have another walk around, another smoke and more food then be absolutely exhausted and make our weary way home at 9:30 - 10:pm ish!

The location of this hotel is perfect. I think if you are an older couple or a family then this wouldn't be so suitable. But for a couple or for a group of friends who want to come and be in the thick of Amsterdam and the slightly darker/racier side of life, then it is perfect. There are bars everywhere surrounding the hotel and coffee shops galore - and so many food places. The sex museum is a few minutes away, the red light district also only a few minutes away - not to mention the sex shows etc. (which we never went to).

I can recommend a place called Leidseplein. We got a tram there because it rained all weekend and we were fed up with wet feet, but this is easily walkable. It is an area just full of restaurants, lots of them were al fresco.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay there - it gave us what we needed and we would definitely go back again - would we take our parents there? No way - would our friends love it? Most definitely. It really all depends on what you what to take from Amsterdam - we took it all and we loved it!

Room Tip: The city doesn't sleep until late and this hotel was bang splat in the thick of it all - so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharMar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#178 of 368 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#294 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,594 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,036 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 368 in Amsterdam
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frisco Inn Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Property: Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Address: Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Frisco Inn Bar Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard double room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Frisco Inn Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frisco Hotel Bar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing