We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay at the hotel, but the coffee shop was great!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Ranked #203 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The staff at the coffee shop were awesome. They were very knowledgeable about their product and some of the best inventory around. The chairs are a little uncomfortable, but the atmosphere and vibe was great. They have nice snacks and munchie food and everyone was as friendly as can be. I would certainly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Try the Amnesia Haze!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ILUVYERKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 178 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel but the cafe was extremely welcoming and friendly. Great tunes played and the hot choc with cream was to die for. A lovely mellow place to hang out for a couple of hours to try the "interesting" side of Amsterdam, with friendly clientele and staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Such a nice wee hotel in the heart of amsterdam. Welcomed by all the staff and any advice we needed we got. Stayed for 2 days and had breakfast every money. Made fresh at your request. Down in the coffee house they have the best hot coco ever. The only issue is the stairs, thay can be steep and get worse with a few drink but that was never an issue as what do you expect with the houses in amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms at front can get loud if your window is open during the summer but winter this should not be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freeirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good breakfast and attentive staff. Downside was the room facing the street. Since it was warm, we had to leave the window open and the street noise went well into the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 5-8 july, great location for sightseeing but really noisy at night. Staff not as helpful as described in other reviews, rooms not great but served as a bed for the night. Stairs are very steep - you wouldnt need to have had 'one too many' before trying tackle them. Breakfast room very small and lacks pleasant atmosphere we went once and then didnt bother after that. The internet wifi access did not work. Overall this hotel was disappointing.

If I was going back to Amsterdam I would look for other accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mullagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in mid-April during which we tried our best to ignore the filthiness of our room. The floor looked as if it had not been vacuumed in weeks and the walls had remnants of spilled beverages stuck to them. Really, it is a shame because we would have been quite happy here had the room been clean.

We arrived quite a while before check-in time and asked to leave our luggage. The woman on duty was quite nice and allowed us to do that. While we waited, we stopped in Rookies. When the woman from the hotel saw us sitting outside the coffee shop, she informed us that our room was ready. We were quite surprised and pleased that it was ready so soon. When we were properly checked in, she impressively heaved our two suitcases up the narrow staircase to the second floor. I'm not sure that the cleaning staff was completely done in our room since I found the floor squeegee left in the bathroom, but at that point, we were really happy for a quiet, private place to pull ourselves together. If the cleaning staff was interrupted before they had finished, they never completed the job while we were there. They did, however, leave fresh towels for us each morning, so they should have noticed that at least the floor was in need of a sweep. The filthiness ruined what was a fine stay otherwise. The location was great--- close to the art museums and numerous eateries; it was the smoke friendly establishment which we were wanting and the staff was friendly. We did not complain of the lack of cleanliness while we were there. We probably should have instead of just bearing with it. We just kept saying to each other, "If only our room weren't so filthy!"

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarryLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank william j
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#182 of 242 in Amsterdam
402 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#12 of 242 in Amsterdam
629 reviews
Via Amsterdam
#69 of 242 in Amsterdam
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#170 of 242 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#46 of 242 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
Htel Amstelveen
#55 of 242 in Amsterdam
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Address: Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147, 1017 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel The Rookies)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $24 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hostel Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing