We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT WEEKEND” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Ranked #194 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT WEEKEND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed here on 22/10/11 to 24/10/11;first time in this Hotel & will not be the last.wee John on reception was very helpfull & could not do enough for me.staff in downstairs coffee shop were also very good.My room was very clean & warm,bed was very comfortable too.Free wi-fi was a nice bonus.Location is spot on & anything you want to do is only a short walk away.Renovations have started & I was shown finished upgraded rooms(very nice). My return flight was at 21.45hrs from schiphol & I was able to hold room till 18.00hrs for a very small fee, this I really appreciated. As a frequent visitor to Amsterdam I cannot wait to return here to Rookies ,and I will always stay here in future.Thank you once again for everything.Glenn Scolley from Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    32
    24
    43
See reviews for
4
31
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Beds were comfortable. Room and en-suite were very clean. Bloke on reception was very polite and helpful. Hotel was undergoing a major refurb while we were there but it was not a major inconvenience. Would definitely go back and stay and would recommend to friends. Stairs were steep but what do you expect from a traditional dutch building. Nice patio area to chill in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hell64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

This hotel was recommended to us from a friend.Although the stairs are steep and atmosphere is laid back,we found everything we needed here.The reception was welcoming ,our room was clean and we were central to all Amsterdam has to offer.The breakfast was a great start and theres a patio off the reception area,very peaceful.
If your looking for simple,clean and friendly lodging in the middle of Amsterdam than this is your place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 114thelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Only positives of this hotel really are the location and the guy on reception.

The hotel itself is grimy and left me feeling filthy! We both ended up covered in bites which we can't be sure came from the beds but have stayed in 9 other hotels in Amsterdam and never woken up covered in insect bites before.

Walls are paper thin and you never really feel safe. Dark, dingy and a feeling of neglect and dirt all around you. Thank god it was only one night!! It was so dingy we did not even go for the breakfast so can't comment on that. Needs striped bare, updated and scrubbed and could be a good little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

I stayed here for six nights and was very happy with my choice. The hotel is close to all that is happening in Leidseplein, the entertainment area of Amsterdam. I am in my 40s and not much into partying anymore but it was nice to be able to step out of the hotel and get something to eat or drink close by whenever I felt like it. Some reviewers seem to have had a problem with noise, and John at reception did enquire if it was too noisy for me, but I really didn't notice the noise on the weekend once I closed my window, and I was in a room right at the front. Having mentioned John, I must say he was the most friendly and helpful host I could have asked for. He checked with me every day as to how I was going, and as a solo traveller I appreciate that. The breakfast was just right, all you could want from scrambled eggs to toast, coffee, tea, juice, cereals, cheese and cold meat.
Previous reviewers have mentioned the difficult stairways - yes, it's Amsterdam, there are difficult stairways. The staff were very helpful and insisted on carrying my (very heavy) bag up and down the stairs.
The room was spacious and very clean. It was cleaned daily and I had a hard time convincing the cleaning guy that I did not need new towels every day! The location was excellent, so close to all the sights, just a short walk away or catch the trams nearby. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it.
I must note, the hotel is above a coffee shop (which in Amsterdam means a place where you smoke pot) and it is allowed to smoke in the rooms. The smell was quite strong in the hallways but I did not notice it at all in my room. I do not smoke pot but this did not bother me in the slightest - you have to remember it is legal there. Don't bring your hang-ups with you to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelsquirrel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

We had a really good time at the Rookies. Loved the fact that it was smoker friendly, so we could do what we came to do in the room. We had a superior room with a great wiew over the cosy backyard, but the only superior about it was that it had its own bathroom. The room was clean when we came, and they changed the towels during our stay. If you want, you can get your room cleaned during the stay, but you have to order it in the reception.

The room was spaceful, and the mattresses was good, only bad thing was that the beds kept sliding apart, and left me feeling so lonely with my boyfriend all the way over on the other side :) There was no hairdryer or ironing board, but you could borrow it if you needed to. The only thing we missed in the room was a small refrigerator for drinks and stuff.

The reception is not open 24 hours, but we didnt find any difficulties with it because the coffeshop down starirs are open until 01.00 am and the staff there are happy to help you with anything you might need help with. They also provide very good regular ,and amsterdam coffe in the coffeshop :)

Breakfast was good, but plain. Two kinds of bread and some different kinds of cheese, jams and ham. They also offered to make scrambled eggs if you wanted to. Coffe and tea of course, and the breakfast was included in the price.

The location couldnt have been better, nice atmosphere and lots of good restaurants, bars, cafes and coffeshops around. Impulsive preformances in the streets wich we think is very cosy and fun. Also a very good area for shopping, LOTS of independent stores as well as the big ones like H&M. Loved it, and would really like to come back to the Rookies and John, wich was a really nice guy, again sometime.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fasttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Having been to Amsterdam several times before, i decided the rookies uptown would be a good choice as it was in the heart of the city and close o the restaurants and attractions

When i arrived we lead up a very narrow and steep staircase just to get to recpetion, which was actually the dining room-come-breakfast area. There was also i strong smell from the coffee shop down stairs. The floor and carpets were unkept and in need of vacumming. We were then told he did not need to see our passports, thought this was strange seeing as i have always been asked to produce this before.

He lead us to our room which was on the third floor again up a narrow, steep and winding staircase (which is typical of amsterdam, but definetly not suitable for the elderly or disabled). The room was small and barely room enough to walk around, and there was no space to store out two suitcases. The room smelt of stale smoke and cananbis. The floor again was dirty and was covered in crumbs. Under the beds where cigarette ends. The net curtains were stained grey and the window ledge was also black and grimey. The whole room was just dark and dingy, we had two over-bed lights, a lamp and the ceiling light on and it was still dull.

The towels we were given were stained and smelt musty. The bedclothes were also worn and there were crumbs and hairs inside when we pulled the sheets back.

The door would not lock properly, leaving us feeling uneasy.

The reception was never manned, you had to go outside of the hotel, out into the street and into the coffee shop to get the receptionist to come into the hotel.

The whole establishment was very poorly run and not mantained at all.
I would never recomment this hotel.

Go to the best western museum appollo! same price and its the lap of luxry compared!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meganhtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#168 of 221 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel
#177 of 221 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
#184 of 221 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Amsterdam
#6 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Dutchies Hostel
#43 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Train Lodge
#64 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Property: Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Address: Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147, 1017 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel The Rookies)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hostel Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing