We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are no excuses, it was terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sphinx Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sphinx Hotel
Ranked #340 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There are no excuses, it was terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I am concerned over how companys like boking.com and other sites that sell rooms for travellers put their good name on risk and help not serius business to sell their products/rooms.
The room was dirty, dangereus and looked more lika a drugnest then a hotel. We was at the fourth floor and realized that in case of a fire no one could save us. We had paid for two days, but we leaved the hotel without any refound early morning after the first night. Of cause we complained but without any succees. We was only glad to get out of there.

Room Tip: Avoid this place, even if it is close to the museums. It is not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gammelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    36
    37
    170
See reviews for
13
54
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Me and a couple of friends hitchiked to Amasterdam as part of a University Jailbreak activity.
This was the only hotel with a spare room in it (and now we know why!)

It was DISGUSTING! The bed's were crawling with bed bugs and was dirty.

The staff were rude

The breakfast was pathetic.

DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL EVER!!!

Glad we only stayed there for one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ho1iday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sphinx hotel for 4 nights, and this was my first trip to Amsterdam.

When we arrived, we were shocked by the depressed and dirty look of the place and wanted to go soe place else, but were told that we had to pay fo two nights anyway.

We were shown several rooms- the first stank of cigarettes despite the no smoking listing.
The second had a broken window and was freezing cold.
We were "upgraded" to a room at the top, with 4 beds and its own bathroom, and which had windows which could close, but had no heating, even though heating was listed as part of the amenities.
One of the beds had used sheets with blood stains and a strand of dark hair.
Another bed had used, smelly sheets.
One bed was full of bed bugs and my friend woke every morning with with bites all over her.
She said she hated going to bed at night, into sheets which smelled of the previous occupant.
Our TV, also advertised on the web site, was broken, with wires dangling from it.
On our first night we asked for a portable heater, since the raidator in our room was broken but were told by the rude Chinese staff that we could not have a heater.
On the second night we asked a much nicer staff for a heater and were instantly given one.
When we asked for a hair dryer, we had to pay a substantial deposit on it, which was supposed to be put away and returned to us when we returned the hairdryer.

When we returned the hairdryer, the same Chinese girl said we had already been given back our deposit, which wasnot true, and we had to argue with her to get it back.

The room was dirty with food under the beds. The hall carpets and doors and walls were dirty and stained. It is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and this is verified by the many other reviews. If only I had read them before booking! It ruined our holiday in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hungarian274887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Rude agressive staff - Stains all over the walls floors and beds - everything broken - very very dirty - makes a south american prison look good

only plus point was we found some cans of beer in the fridge that hadn't been cleaned out from the last people that stayed here.

Never book this its terrible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodman0682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I write to you at 4 in the morning the night after I came home from Amsterdam, scratching my bed bug bites that number around 40. Yes, this hotel has a bed bug problem, and No, they didn't do anything about it while I was there. Don't ever ever ever go to this hotel. Not only is it infested with bed bugs, upon my checking in there were numerous other problems that I encountered with my room. Firstly, the shower in the bathroom was not fully assembled and lay in bits and pieces making it difficult to shower. Secondly, there was no hot water for the shower until my second day as nobody bothered to give us an alternative or fix it that day. Thirdly, the door handle to the bathroom would just fall off if you pulled on it at all. If you are going to go to Amsterdam, then stay as far away from this place as you can...take the option of staying further out of the main part of the city if you are concerned with price and learn to ride the bus/tram/subway. They advertised cable TV and free wifi...but they charge you 5 or 10 Euro as a deposit just to get a remote to actually use it (it won't work otherwise). They also charge you a 10 Euro deposit for your damn hotel key...WTF? I loved Amsterdam but I LOATHE this place. I am seriously considering legal action to get my money back and reimbursement for medical treatment.

Room Tip: Heres a tip...go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ScottStrickland1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE. Booked with an open mind because we could only book our desired hostel for two nights (the flying pig downtown, would HIGHLY recommend) so booked this one for an additional two nights. When we walked into our room we noticed the holes in the walls initially. Then the mould in the celilings, specially around the lights. And the shower walls where mouldy and the toilet was disgusting. After two hours of pleading with the staff for a refund we got moved to a 'better room' for the night. Which was equally disgusting AND IN THE BASEMENT. Felt like I was being watched the whole night. The breakfast was toast and coffee if you where lucky. We got a refund for our second nights stay and went into the centre and picked the first room we found. Location isn't ideal and the rooms are extremely over priced. DO NOT STAY HERE. No one deserves to have to stay a night in this hell hole.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KatherineD94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am afraid this is by far the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. The stuff was really rude. The rooms were really filthy. They rotated our towels between each room. I know that because we had two rooms and there was a stain on the towel of the other room and the next morning we had that towel we the same stain on. The breakfast was really nothing. The only good thing i have to say it is its location. But really better stay on a bench it will be better.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nielsgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#278 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#277 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#308 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#292 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sphinx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sphinx Hotel

Property: Sphinx Hotel
Address: Weteringschans 82, 1017 XR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sphinx Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sphinx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sphinx Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing