We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Makes prison look like 5* accommodation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sphinx Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sphinx Hotel
Ranked #339 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Makes prison look like 5* accommodation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE. Booked with an open mind because we could only book our desired hostel for two nights (the flying pig downtown, would HIGHLY recommend) so booked this one for an additional two nights. When we walked into our room we noticed the holes in the walls initially. Then the mould in the celilings, specially around the lights. And the shower walls where mouldy and the toilet was disgusting. After two hours of pleading with the staff for a refund we got moved to a 'better room' for the night. Which was equally disgusting AND IN THE BASEMENT. Felt like I was being watched the whole night. The breakfast was toast and coffee if you where lucky. We got a refund for our second nights stay and went into the centre and picked the first room we found. Location isn't ideal and the rooms are extremely over priced. DO NOT STAY HERE. No one deserves to have to stay a night in this hell hole.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KatherineD94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    36
    37
    170
See reviews for
13
54
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am afraid this is by far the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. The stuff was really rude. The rooms were really filthy. They rotated our towels between each room. I know that because we had two rooms and there was a stain on the towel of the other room and the next morning we had that towel we the same stain on. The breakfast was really nothing. The only good thing i have to say it is its location. But really better stay on a bench it will be better.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nielsgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Where to start? This place was a serious dump:

1 - Most the staff were rude and unhelpful
2 - The prices are extorniate. Yes, I know Amsterdam is expensive but this place takes the biscuit!
3 - The location isn't great. Your around a 15 minute walk from the centre of Amsterdam
4 - The room are distugsting, stained bed sheets, walls falling apart, dirty toilets
5 - The stairs are extremely steep and quite frankly dangerous
6 - The breakfast is a joke - toast and coffee if your lucky

Overall this place is as bad as it gets, I seriously advise anyone thinking of booking here to not! There are plenty of other places you can stay in the dam.

The room across from where we were staying apparently didn't even have enough beds, just mattresses on the floor!

Room Tip: None of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stanius-maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you want to sleep, dont go to this place. My room only had a padlock on the door so it was impossible to lock the door from the inside. Everything is dirty and the pricess are laughably high. Beds are full of brown stains and the rooms are falling apart. The only good thing in this place was the location.

Helpful?
2 Thank DustyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I booked for 13 nights and these were the worst nights of my life. Don't get me wrong, I am from Pakistan and I know what worst means. The staff were very unfriendly, absolute lack of communication skills. Breakfast was poor and the rooms untidy. However, the worst things were the bed bugs; whole lot of them. I left the hotel after 4 nights and shifted to somewhere else. They refused to refund the rest of money for the duration I wasn't going to stay. I developed hypersensitivity to bed bugs bite and had to take steroids for three months with 4 days of work loss.
I would stay in a trash bin but not in this hell hole.

Room Tip: Always read the reviews before you book a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yasaryousafzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#277 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#295 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#273 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#306 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#291 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sphinx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sphinx Hotel

Property: Sphinx Hotel
Address: Weteringschans 82, 1017 XR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sphinx Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sphinx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sphinx Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing